1 / 4
actualizado  

Unwind in a village and help us with various tasks in Johor Bahru, Malaysia

  • Malasia
  • 20 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 19/01/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Welcome fellow travelers! Come stay with us and immerse yourself in the local Malaysian culture in a Malay village - the people, the food, the traditions.
    **Volunteers will be invited to a local wedding on 14th January 2023.

    Our home is located in the largest and most populous settlement area with Malay population, followed by Kampung Baru in Kuala Lumpur. The small town village is a short ride to downtown Johor Bahru, 15-20 min by car to Singapore border. Its population is mostly Malay and Javanese.

    WELCOME as a member of the family! We are four adults and two children. We can host up to only four (4) volunteers at a time. We enjoy traveling and meeting new people from different cultures and backgrounds. Please share with us your travel and adventure stories! We really enjoy hosting volunteers and welcoming new guests into our family. You can stay up to three weeks, one week minimum. We enjoy hearing about your day, your travels, experience and life, and would like a guest that will join us in good conversation. I prefer an ambience without the constant distraction of digital devices. We are training the children to spend more time learning through real life interactions.

    To be completely clear - If you are someone who will spend more than one hour of time per day on any combination of screen (phone, computer, tv, or any digital device - this includes social media, movies, digital games, Google searches as a few examples) please do not request to stay with us. Unless of course, your assigned role involves working with digital devices - more on that later.

    We are not a hotel or hostel, but a welcoming family home. We hope you enjoy our city, explore the neighbourhood, and you should want to spend time in conversation outside of your working hours and join us in meals and events when possible. We hope to make genuine connections with you and remain friends after you continue on your travels.

    There are cats roaming around the house who we consider to be part of the family so you must enjoy animals - and a bonus if you already love cats!

    Two of us here can speak English, so if you want to improve your English conversation skills this is a good opportunity. However one of our motives for hosting is to share/learn languages.

    You must be a person that enjoys the start of the day and will wake up with the sunrise (or earlier) every day. No later than 8am. Please only request to stay with us if this is already your nature and part of your daily habit - not something that I need to ask of you. Sharing breakfast, having coffee together, or an early morning walk is something we really enjoy doing - so please let us know if this is something you would like too.

    *Will send more photos/video of our home to people we're considering upon request - we just don't want to post them publicly for privacy reasons.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our family has many interests and we are happy to include you once things open up and are available to us again... - such as: cooking and sampling local cuisine, walk in the park, walk in night markets, market hopping, art gallery visits, cultural festivals.

    We are doing our small part for those who are looking for some place to visit, hang out and do things together.
    It is up to you what kind of memories you want to create and what sort of experience you want to enjoy and most importantly how you want to be remembered.

    Our home has a small backyard where you can enjoy a cup of coffee or eat outside in your own privacy or with us. We enjoy a neighbourhood walk regularly and of course you are more than welcomed to join us!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Let us know what skills you bring- can you Garden? Clean well? Have any construction skills? Sew? Teach English language? Photography? Other? Not everyone is suited to all types of tasks and together we will decide what is best for you. Depending on your skill set we may send a more detailed outline of possible tasks after you contact us.

    We aim to promote Malaysian food and culture. Skills we are looking for in January 2023:
    - Photography and videography
    - Social media management
    - Social media/Digital marketing
    **You must have your own equipment for filming and editing content.

    We are also looking for all year round helper with minimum 1 week for the time being and assist us with general housekeeping. Helpers must be proactive and able to work independently without supervision. Surely we don't want to give out orders so it'd be great if you offer a helping hand with everyday activities without us reminding you.

    You can help us with house chores and if you have experience in construction we have a tiny house project that is under construction.

    Otherwise, simply help us babysit the twin brothers Fai and Nao.

    Right now our priority is to finish our tiny house project so it'd be very helpful too if you have experience in construction.
    Regardless of race , language or religion, we can live together .

    We ask for a commitment of 25 hours of volunteer help per week and in addition to that a meal you will prepare yourself with ingredients we have in the kitchen (we will provide the ingredients). It would be nice if you enjoy cooking.

    As we are working, and going to school, some of the workaway hours may need to be scheduled on the weekend, and a few on one or two weeknights - but you can still schedule off two days without work, example Fri&Sat or Sun&Mon. We consider your preferences and input when creating the schedules together.

    There are a lot of tasks outside in the yard/garden. Outdoor tasks may include help with the yard such as lawn and garden care. There is an unfinished tiny house project that we need help with (installing roof, repair doors and windows, wall painting) so if you are handy with tools you are more than welcome to help us complete the house.

    There may be some small home improvement tasks such as preparing for painting, maybe refinishing wooden doors. Other tasks may include sorting storage room, moving some small furniture and organizing around the house.

    Also, there may be daily and weekly cleaning tasks of bathrooms, kitchen, living areas. There may also be some cleaning tasks outdoors, for example the car or deck furniture.

    Some hours may be scheduled for help with reading in English, and grammar study IF you are able to do this. If you are an English speaker we may schedule a few hours per week where you would help the kids (twin brothers, age eight) with reading or some type of grammar lessons and this time would be agreed upon beforehand and counted towards your working hours - However, all other conversations we have in English are not counted toward the hours – that part of culture/language exchange is considered a bonus for each of us.

    You must have a positive outlook on working and do it with energy and efficiency. You should be proactive, able to self manage, prioritize, and keep track of what you have done. Working hours are intended for working and we ask that you refrain from using your phone, eating your breakfast or lunch, or other personal matters in this time. It would be good if you can manage your schedule and keep track of your hours without reminders.

    We really appreciate a helping hand in any daily activities of our family so please come with an open mind and heart :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Malay: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Private bedroom space that only you use but the rest of the house and two bathrooms are shared. The fridge and pantry are well stocked so you can prepare what you like. We will do the grocery shopping and provide food to eat while you are in the house. WiFi is provided.

    Only one meal a day is provided, usually for lunch - and you will not be eating the same meal everyday as we want you to learn some Malay traditional dishes; we may eat meals together. In case you have any food allergies or need to cook yourself, let us know preferably BEFORE arrival. Most diets can be easily accommodated, two of us are pescatarians but the rest of the family eats meat.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We enjoy cooking with fresh healthy ingredients and experiencing food from all over the world. However, please note that in case you want to cook for yourself using your own ingredients, it is important to keep it Halal because we are a Malay Muslim family (no pork, no alcohol etc).

    IMPORTANT:
    - Feel free to use the fridge to store your food in the kitchen, however, as mentioned, alcohol and non-halal foodstuff are strictly NOT ALLOWED in the house.
    - Helpers are expected to be in sync with our daily chores, we prefer early risers.
    - Please make sure you bring/wear decent/properly covered clothes while staying here because this area is still a village and most people here are Muslims.
    - Please bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. There is a mosque nearby and the prayer call is as early as 5am.
    - Please leave your shoes outside. Simply means do not enter the house with you shoes on.
    - Please take care of your hygiene and cleanliness. Malaysia has two seasons, hot and very hot - plus 80% humidity on average. Anyone could sweat in this climate so we strongly suggest volunteers to take shower everyday (even 2-3 times a day) and be mindful of the cleanliness of the pillow, blanket and mattress, please don't use them when you are dirty or smelly. Please don't use the pillow as foot rest, it is considered rude and distasteful in our culture.
    - If you have unwanted clothes and pants or anything that you need to unload from your backpack..you can drop them at our family house.

    We are within a 5 min walking distance to a lot of local restaurants and neighbourhood shops. We are a short walk to the bustop with a 20 minute ride to Johor Bahru – downtown. Johor Bahru is a diverse multicultural center with almost any kind of activity that you can think of. There are numerous art galleries, museums, theatre venues...there are also many free events throughout the city too.

    Can't wait to welcome you to our family home in Malay village :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 916171713211

Fotos

Comentarios

Help out on our Durian farm near Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Come and help out at a small, creative school in Ayer Keroh, Melaka, Malaysia