Help around the house and restorations at a Gapme (Sami house) in the village of Kjøpsvik, Norway

Country

Noruega

203 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/05/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    93

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Update summer 2021:

    Hi, everyone! This summer me and my friends will do a bit of this and that. I will fix my house In KJøpsvik, Narvik, painting, a bit of fixing-up, so I can rent it out when I leave. Also, we will do a bit of volounteer work at an old farm. Google "rørvik gård salten" and you will find pictures of it.
    We are working together with those responsible, in order to make the farm as close to operational, at least in principle, to its state back in the days. My job is mostly to do light fixing on wood work, paint jobs etc. I will also fix a couple of old peat roofs, and some other projects. My girl and some other people will join me from time to time, + I know a lot of the locals.

    Lastly, we enjoy camping and staying in the woods. We have a camp ca. 20-40 minutes from the road, where Rørvik gård is located, and there me and some friends have built a pretty large gapme. Its very rudimentary, and somewhat ugly, but we think it's cool. We try to have a good time, do some hiking, some fishing, and work a bit on different projects. This year's project is fixing the gapme inside, putting in an oven; perhaps upgrading the camp outside with a better outside oven etc.
    We don't work too hard, but try to have a bit of fun on the way. Learning and trying new things are a bit of the thing. I am interested in history, old techniques, thinking and late night discussing, a little party in the woods mood is right. We have a lot of interesting people coming by, and we like to be social. We also have a bit going across the fjord; my house is on one side of the fjord, and the other stuff on the other; the shortest path is usually by boat.

    ::::Sleeping etc.:::
    In my house I have three bedrooms + a bed in the living room ("day bed", you can call it). When we stay up in the woods, or a the farm, we can stay in tents (I have a military tent + small tents, + a shed up in the woods). But usually, if the weather's bad, my father got a place not to far from it all, which I sometimes borrow. I have a car.

    Let me know if your interested! The whole project is a bit fluid, since the work is semi-weather dependent. Let me know your plans, and we work something out!

    Ps: Just ask, if it's anything.

    *

    Summary:

    Work:
    - Fixing/painting etc. a modern house.
    - Fixing an old farm.
    - Camping in the woods and fixing an gapme, inside work (the gapme is finished outside) (look at the pictures).

    Sleeping/etc.:
    Look above. Dogs, smoking, etc. is all okay for me. I have room for about 4 people. Ask if it's anything.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will learn something about building stuff with whole wooden logs, and the stuff involved. You can even put up the whole structure without using a single nail, even though we didn't do that. I also know a bit about the process how the vikings put up their (similar) houses. I am mostly a historian, not a carpenter, but it`s a lot of fun facts.

    As I said, we to a great degree enjoy the social side of this. The work is rough, or tedious, so we even it out by laughter or having a good time. I am interested in all aspect of old times, norwegian and local history. There`s a lot of funny stories about how they used to do it in the old times around these parts, or around the viking age. E.g., did you know that the vikings try to make a kingdom outside Jerusalem? Or that one killed his friend, because "he had such a good angle for a chop." Etc etc.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Kjøpsvik:
    Painting, carpentry, cooking, moving stuff around (I'm "redecorating", so to speak). Odd jobs, but a bit company and small tasks is very helpful as it's a lot of small jobs, too much for only one person.

    The gapme/the woods:
    See above.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    See above. Life in the woods is not recommended unless you like to sleep a bit of rough and get your hands dirty etc. But we have a small hut (like, 2.4x2.4 m) which is good for people that don't like sleeping in the tents. Through the summer we might fix floor in the gapme and get some bunk beds up.

    Kjøpsvik: 3x beds (including mine) + a big sleeping sofa, though not very good. If there's many also my father has a house that is not in use!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Lots of mountains. Ocean and lakes with fish. We have boats both in lake and ocean (although, the one in the lake is damaged). The national mountain of Norway is here, STetind. We have some relics from the war, etc. Ask me!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Yeah, I guess. Not all places have electricity, but most have.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I like pets! Don't care about hair etc., every house should have a dog or a cat! (I myself have none, as I move a lot about.)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    about 3 hours a day, 4-days a week (different work, weather dependent. Better to plan for longer work some days, e.g. with better weather for painting, and then take some days off.)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 913839574417