Help fix up my house and garden, experience living at the top of Etna Volcano in Sicily, Italy

Country

Italia

actualizado  

245 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    18/06/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    2134

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    82.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Dear Workawayers,
    Thank you for your interest in helping me. I live on Etna Volcano located 15 mins driving from Ragalna, one of the highest towns on Etna at 1300m. Etna is an active volcano erupting multiple times a year. On my land, there is a vegetable garden, chicken coop, Gina the donkey,2sheps ,many fruit trees scattered around, my main house with 2 bedrooms, a smaller cottage which is being totally renovated, a large patio and outdoor seating area. I try to live as eco friendly as possible so all my water is cleaned rain water and I am working on making a grey water recycler. I try to grow and preserve as much food as possible; in my garden now are tomatoes, zucchini, peppers and various fruit trees and herbs.

    My home is a very peaceful and quiet place. I live here with my girlfriend and my 3 kids (7, 12, 12) are here some of the time.

    Catania is the second largest city in Sicily and is a 45 min drive or 1 hour bus. The many different beaches are also a 1 hour drive. Ragalna, the closest town is a 5 min drive and Nicolosi and Belpasso (biggest towns) are a 10 minute drive. There are mountain walks very close to the house but the submit is a 20 minute drive.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Italian language, Sicilian, Sicilian food and cooking, open fire bbq, mushroom foraging, renovations, craftsmanship, carpentry, trekking, tree care and garden care, building...etc

    We also give to our workawayers the chance to get a "wood cutting class" with chainsaw and axe.
    Due the Matteo's job (tree climbing, arborist) we are collecting wood for hole winter and we are separating it from tipe and size to create also woodcraft and sculpture.

    Sicily is culturally rich which a very specific and interesting way of life. There are not many other places in the world like Sicily and Etna. You will learn what it is like to live on an independent mountain house on Etna.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There are many different projects that I am working on and have in mind, so what you will do depends on what you would enjoy doing and more importantly what skills you have. I am very open to new ideas and suggestions about things to build and how to improve my land. Some of the things I am currently working on and what you will generally be responsible for are...

    Animal care (chickens and dogs; donkey sheps,rabbits)
    Yard maintenance
    Gardening
    Pruning
    Maintaining cleanliness in the house
    Furniture renovations
    Wood cutting
    Wood sculpture
    Carpentry
    Building a new well for rainwater
    Laying tiles on rooftop
    Fixing/improving driveway
    Fire starting
    Rebuild fireplace with lava stone
    Organization and cleaning of tool shed
    ...

    There are all types of different projects which can fit different people.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is a large patio that surrounds the house. The is also a cottage that is being renovated which I will move into when it is ready, then there will be an extra bedroom. The house is on a 7000 sq m property with a panoramic view of Sicily and the peak of Etna. It does get cold at nights so I have a wood fire burner and a fire place. The entire property is available to you.
    You can have your space and select the best area were can Park your tends.
    The camping area are completely full accessori ed With a firecamp a kitchen and compost toilette .
    We can completely joint the 50000 squared Meter around tath they donate ti out project.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I would be pleased to have a respectful workawayer come and stay with us. I have had a lot of good experiences with workawayers and you guys contribute to improving our projects for Kids.
    I can see the work that workawayers have done every day and I am very grateful for that. I love to hear new ideas about different things I can make. Like I said, I am however away for some days a week and would need a workawayer who can manage time if by themselves. I would strongly recommend coming with a car or transportation as there are many things to do locally but require a car. If you don't then I have a bike you can use and for longer stays, I can discuss arrangements for a vehicle. There are dogs that are free to roam the yard and the house has wifi and internet connection. This place has a very special energy which I like for people to enjoy.......

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a weeK

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.9)












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 896767373256