actualizado  

Help us in our dog shelter in beautiful Marateca, Portugal

  • 447 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 23 jul 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi,

    My name is Teresa, and I am a retired English teacher from Portugal.

    I have always had a big heart for animals, especially dogs. That's why I started rescuing them.

    Unfortunately, animal welfare in Portugal is not as widespread as it should be. Many dogs are homeless, badly treated, in kennels, or at killing stations. I try to rescue as many dogs as possible and give them a better life. All of my dogs are listed for adoption, with the hope that they will become members of new, loving families. Until then, I provide them with shelter on my large farm, along with food, medical treatment, and everything else needed for a good life.

    Currently, I have about 450 dogs and 20 cats. The cats have a separate area, so they are not bothered by the dogs.

    Since there's always a lot of work to do, a helping hand is always welcome!🙏

    Come and join me on my farm,

    Obrigado,
    Teresa

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Your stay will be great experience for your self and your personal development.

    You will learn a lot about the behavior of a pack of dogs—how they communicate and treat each other.

    You have the chance to meet people from abroad and exchange and make new friends.

    Additionally, you'll have the chance to explore the natural beauty of Portugal, with its cork trees and diverse wildlife. The farm is located away from tourist spots, offering you the tranquility of pure nature. However, the nearest larger city is just a 30-minute bus ride away.

    The next bigger village like Setúbal or Lissabon are beautiful and beaches are also within range.

    Local food overall is available for fair prices and worth to try.
    Please be aware that Portugal has a high meat and fish culture, so sometimes it might be tricky to find vegetarian or vegan dishes.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The main tasks at the farm are cleaning kennels, feeding and sometimes repairing things, for example fences or wooden houses.(after consultation with shelter manager)
    Further jobs will be distributed daily by Teresa too.
    During the summer it can get very hot and in the winter very wet, so appropriate clothing is a must-have. Preferably old clothes are suggested.

    You must know, that the dogs can be a bit enthusiastic from time to time, so it would be better to wear at least long trousers to avoid scratches. (Older leggings are good) The enclosures have an in- and outside area which both need to be cleaned, but the inside area also needs to be scrubbed with water every now and then.
    Please make sure that you're in good health condition. The work is physically and mentally hard. Also we recommend to check your Tetanus status.
    Besides that the dogs are more than thankful for every cuddle time they can get :)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We can offer a Camper and a shared apartment directly on the farm.
    With a private bed room, living room, kitchen and bathroom. You might share it with other volunteers, but the bedrooms are separated.

    The use of a wash machine is possible for free once a week, so you don’t need to overpack.
    The apartment is in the middle of the dog kennels. So it can get loud here and there. You might better bring earplugs for the night ;)
    I will also provide a bicycle and a helmet, so you can get independently to the next village in a few minutes.

    There is also the option to use the Farm car, but is has priority for all sort of farm related trips f.e. to the vet, picking up dogs etc.
    A driver license of course is needed.

    During season you can have a taste of local fruits which are growing on the farm, apples, pears, grapes, limes, pomegranate, nesperas and and and.
    📍Besides that I unfortunately cannot provide the meals. But you can get them for a low price in the next village.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Next to the farm is a small village where you can get everything necessary. The next bigger city is Setubal, about 30 minutes bus ride away. Also you can reach our beautiful capital of Portugal, Lisbon, in about 1,5 hours with public transportation, which is well connected, or 45 minutes by car.
    Besides that you must be aware that here are no attractions surrounded.
    There is a small village nearby.
    The farm is located in the pure wildlife so if you feel lonely fast, think twice if you can handle that.

    !!!IMPORTANT INFORMATION!!!
    - ARRIVAL DAY-

    Please make sure when you book a flight, to keep in mind that you need to arrive at the farm latest between 6-9pm depending on how you travel.

    When you travel by public transportation and need a pick up from a close bus station, you need to be there latest 5.30pm!!!
    Sundays pickup is not possible.
    Further Instructions will be given.

    When you travel in your own (rental) car or by taxi, please make sure you arrive at the farm latest at 8pm!

    If you arrive later due to unforeseen circumstances, inform Teresa(shelter manager) upfront via WhatsApp and we can try to find a solution. Otherwise you need to be aware that you need to arrange another accommodation the first night by yourself and you have to take care of the costs yourself too.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    To stay here in your won van/ camper can be arranged, but keep in mind that we dont have so much space. If capacity is reached, we cant accept your request.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    As here are a lot of dogs please make sure if you want to bring an animal that it will feel comfortable here. They can be overwhelmed and disturbed by all my dogs.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week. More always welcome

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 386541837946

Comentarios (31)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicación: (4.6)











































Help with small DIY tasks and gardening in Alte, Portugal
With daily life and in our garden on the hill overlooking the ocean on Madeira Island, Portugal