Come and get involved at our family run hotel and explore The magnificent Central Drakensberg, South Africa

Country

Sudáfrica

65 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    27/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Do you want to explore our beautiful valley in The Central Drakensberg?

    Come and get involved at our family run hotel. Travellers would get to know the entire family and would be invited along to social, cultural and sporting events we attend. The local community are also friendly and welcoming.

    I work on superyachts, as do a couple of my siblings, one of which is a captain and the other a commercial helicopter pilot. We all come and go, however, I have chosen to spend more time at home this past year, in order to support the family and uplift the hotel. I've been busy with all kinds of interesting projects and I would like some friendly help.

    We currently employ around 35 locally paid staff in the various departments such as: reception, reservations, food & beverage (kitchen staff, waiters, barmen), housekeeping, maintenance, grounds, bowls, etc.

    You would not be required to stand in for any positions, however, you may end up working alongside a few of our staff.

    We are a prominent hotel in the valley and our clientele vary; from members of the local community, tourists, families with young children; to the bowling and mountain biking communities. We regularly host guest speakers, events etc.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You would have the opportunity to experience this culturally diverse UNESCO World Heritage sight and get to interact with n to only our family, but members of the local community as well. The place is quiet and surrounded by wildlife.

    Travellers would gain myriad new skills, hospitality experience, as well as get to experience life in The Berg!

    This could be an ideal opportunity to et away from the city, disconnect, reset the mind and enjoy the peace & quiet.

    There is so much to do on the property and locally, such as: hiking, trail running (for days); you could go biking, horse riding, fishing, play golf, visit the bird of prey rehabilitation centre (Falcon Ridge), Reptile centre, go for a Canopy Tour, check out the internationally acclaimed Boys Choir, go for a Scootour, Battlefields tour, bushman painting tour, etc.

    Just up the road is a bakery, brewery, chocolate factory, cheese factory, rug factory, a plethora of hotels & so much more.

    If you are into bucket list type activities; there are mountains to climb/soar (helicopter, balloon, glider) from the airfield a short walk away.

    As I mentioned before, we are a bowls (Lawn Bowls) destination with three championship greens, resident (former) Protea coach and our very own club. We meet for "tabs-in" every Wednesday and Saturday morning at 09h00. Workawayers would be encouraged to join in, beginners welcome!

    In addition to everything mentioned above; travellers would have the opportunity to learn Zulu, demonstrate their work ethic, gain hospitality experience, improve their practical skills, have the freedom (and time) to pursue whatever interests them nearby and of course, be welcomed into the family. My mother, Shelley and I would host Workawayers, but they would get to know the entire family and would be invited along to social, cultural and sporting events we attend. The local community are also friendly & welcoming. Thank you for looking over our profile, we look forward to hearing from you:)

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are new to Workaway, so we are piloting the idea of hosting travelers looking for a unique experience in The Berg.

    We own a charming family run hotel located in the exceptionally beautiful Champagne Valley in the Central Berg.
    We are the oldest hotel in the area (so as you can imagine, there is always maintenance to be done).

    The hotel is safe & secure, 20 minutes from town (Winterton) and surrounded by touristic activities in the mountains.

    We are a bowls destination with three championship greens. Our resident greenskeeper is a former Protea coach.
    If you would like to learn the sport or improve your game, please join us for "tabs-in" every Wed. & Sat. at 09h00.

    We have various projects on the go around the hotel/on the estate, as well as a wish-list of projects to get to...

    We are looking for somebody (or couple), who are keen to get involved, uplift the hotel & contribute something positive.

    We will discuss with Workawayers how they would like to get involved and assign projects accordingly.
    Initially, we would restore wooden fences, playgrounds and whatever needs a lick of paint (see rocking horse in pics.).
    Ideally, we are looking for self-starters, who enthusiastically take charge of their own project(s) and leave their mark:)

    Artists welcome! If you are a musician, you are more than welcome to bring your amp. and busk in the bar.
    You could create something, we have myriad paint projects to get to, or you could just leave us a nice mural (",)

    Here is a wish-list of projects we'd like to get to:

    - Trail maintenance, setting up new trails (Lover's Lane along river) as well as mapping out the trails on the property.
    - Setting up a downhill MTB course on the property. Adding to the network of (Cathkin) Trails.
    - Building a treehouse near the playground, painting swings, etc. (We have loads of timber on the property).
    - Designing new gardens and features, creating a space for yoga classes, meditation etc. (Instructor's welcome)
    - Creating a "kiddies/entertainment" program (seasonal) (Bridge, Bingo, Poker, arts & crafts, tractor rides, etc.).
    - Maintenance projects (building, renovating, painting, varnishing, organising workshops, etc.)
    - Eradicate alien (plant) species on the property, and neaten up along the river, trails, etc.
    - Chopping firewood and manicuring the trees on the property (We have a mill).
    - Improving The Workawayer Digs/staff accommodation; building little fences, adding gardens etc.
    - Build bird watching structures (Blinds), and document the birdlife (Newmans App.) on the property.
    - Neaten up trees around wedding venue & nurture the grass in time for the Summer season.
    - Set up a veggie garden/greenhouse (monkey proof) to supply fresh produce for the hotel/staff/local community.
    - Help my dad set up his workshop and restore the estate's classic cars & bikes (There's a fleet of them!)

    If you have special skills or just a great work ethic and would like to get involved, then please do get in touch!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Afrikaans: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Korean: Intermedio
    Zulu: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We would put you up in your own, private (couple's sharing) fully furnished, en suite rondawel on the property.

    We have earmarked a designated Workawayer Digs and the initial travellers will play a part in renovating/transforming the space for future travellers.

    You would be provided with a hot breakfast and dinner from the hotel. Lunch is not included.
    There is an á la carte menu for purchasing lunches, or you could do your own thing (facilities available).

    You would be invited for the occasional dinner with the family, staff braai, and encouraged to try out other local spots.

    We have gardens, walking trails, cycling trails, river frontage (entire boundary), a pool, tennis courts, bowling greens, gym, (cash) bar, vending machines (cigarettes & snacks), pool table, snooker room, dartboard, volleyball court, WIFI, books, lounges, piano, fireplaces, etc. You would be welcome to make use all of the facilities on the property.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We could arrange a pickup/dropoff from a nearby city/bus/Baz Bus terminal.

    Locally there is a minibus taxi service. There is always somebody going into town, but preference will be given to travellers with their own transport, which would allow them to fully capitalise on everything the area has on offer.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Good WIFI around the grounds and a few nice spots to work comfortably in the lounges, quiet tables in the gardens, etc.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Max 4 - 5 hours/day, 5 days/week (Flexible)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 889219442368