Sheep and tillage farm in South East of Ireland looking for volunteers

Country

Irlanda

264 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    12  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/07/2022

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am a sheep and tillage farmer. My farm is 1 kilometre from the lovely seaside village of Kilmuckridge in the southeast of Ireland. Kilmuckridge has several pubs, a cafe, indoor soccer, golf course, hotel and bus service on the weekend to local towns and from there to major cities. Bicycles and occasional lifts provided.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Primarily a sheep farm so the work mainly consists of help at lambing time. This consists of feeding and bedding ewes in their lambing pens and afterwards in the main shed and later taking care of them in the fields. It is worth noting that at lambing it is normal to witness some blood during the birth of the lambs. Some tractor driving and checking on livestock in the fields. General maintenance of farm yard and sheds. Fencing of paddocks and fields, painting fences, doors and sheds.

    I would like you to work with me for 5 hours during the day.
    The five hours would be taken between 8:00 and 18:00. It is a working farm so the work changes with
    the seasons. We might want three hours in the morning and two hours in the afternoon or evening. The time would be agreed with the volunteer of course.
    I would like you to help me for 5 days and have 2 days off.

    I can only take volunteers for periods of 3 week or more.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in the farmhouse where I live by myself. I have a room with 2 single beds for the volunteers, with a shared bathroom. You might have to share the room with another volunteer if the occasion arose. All food is provided but I would hope that you would share the cooking for the household consisting of me and a fellow volunteer. All towel and linens are provided as well. There is also wifi!

    No smoking indoors or outdoors.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Gorey has an extremely active theatre group which produces several plays through the year and organises performances by visiting groups. They also host an annual, week-long Drama Festival. In the summer months, the group produces a twice-weekly play which is popular with both locals and visitors.

    Several music groups are active in the Gorey area, which play both traditional Irish music as well as rock, popular local bands include Sinsaol and Arís.

    Gorey Choral Group, a mixed Voice Choir of around 38 members, has participated in contests all over Ireland and Wales, and brought many trophies back home.

    There are also a substantial number of pubs, bars, and nightclubs, including Oscars 64 (which is also home to the "O2" night-club), Paddy Blues, McGovern's, French's, Malibu Beach Club, The Mezz Bar, The Coach House, Katie Daly's, and The Bridge Bar.

    A new 7 screen cinema Movies at Gorey opened in June 2010, and is located on the Courtown road.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 874364727364