Help a family with different tasks around our home and enjoy life by the river in East Stewiacke, Canada

  • 21 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 17 jun 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a couple with three young children (5&3 yrs old plus baby) living our best life on a large piece of land by the Stewiacke River in East Stewiacke, Nova Scotia. The land is beautiful, very pastoral with lots of mature trees and a delightful river in which we can swim and kayak during warmer months. We live off grid in our newly built house. We also have a Mongolian yurt and a smaller heated building with a double bed for guests. Close to our place are multiple great outdoor activities that we can show you. Waterfalls, rivers, biking trails, the Bay of Fundy tidal bore viewing, etc. Whatever activity we do, we will invite you - and we love to go on day trips!

    About our family- I am a French Canadian and our family speak both French and English fluently. My husband Adam is also competent in Italian, German and Spanish. Adam is a lawyer by profession, but has decided to stop practicing and he is building us a net zero house to transition from the yurt lifestyle. He is a good carpenter and is becoming knowledgeable on solar systems as well. Adam and our two girls love taking saunas and jump in the river to cool down. As for me, I work for the Mi’kmaq, the indigenous people of Nova Scotia, on environmental conservation projects -when I’m not on maternity leave and taking the kids to all kind of fun places and learning adventures. I love nature and the outdoor. We encourage families to come stay with us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will be invited to join in all our activities and work. Regarding activities, we like to go to farmers markets, the beach (several kinds!), swimming spots, and go to the city of Halifax once a week. We can also let you know about special spots if you want to explore on your own.

    If you want to learn about living off grid, how to setup a solar system, and carpentry, we can share our knowledge with you. We will share with you our culture and way of life, which includes delicious meals and lots of family time.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We always have all kind of projects going on that you could give us a hand with depending on your skills and interest. Adam is building us a net zero house if you have some skills/interest in carpentry. You could also give us a hand with cooking, canning, cleaning, taking care of the kids, or just some general yard maintenance or some DYI projects. We definitely need to deer and porcupine proof our fruit trees and, if you’d like to start a garden patch, awesome! Or just spending some time with the kids teaching them about your language and culture would be very special.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Español: Intermedio
    Italiano: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be staying in a small heated building separate from our house. The building has a double bed and space for a mattress on the floor if needed. We also have lots of good camping spots if you prefer.

    We have a flushing toilet and a shower in our new house still under construction, but we are limited in the amount of electricity our solar system gives us, so all amenities are not always available. We will share our meals which will be cooked in the yurt or in our new house when ready. We like to eat on our picnic table outside when it’s a nice day. For the Internet, we use our phones.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are happy to meet new people and share our life with them. We would be more interested in the cultural exchange than the work help, if it wasn’t from the fact that sharing work and projects helps create stronger bonds.

    We have a strong sense of online privacy. I try to post as little pictures as possible of my children online to respect their privacy. We would appreciate if you don’t post pictures of us and our place on social media and if you keep in mind our privacy when writing public reviews online.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We don’t have satellite internet and use cellphone cellular data for internet usage. If you can manage (I did during covid!), we’re happy to have you.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have two dogs dogs and a cat, so as long as your pets get along with ours we are happy to welcome furry friends.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3-4 hours/day, 4days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 868198426348

Comentarios (1)

Fotos

Comentarios