Help with horses in the beautiful Santa Monica Mountains, California


Estados Unidos

968 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    95.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 12 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

  • Descripción


    I live on a 1.5 acre property with 3 horses in the beautiful Santa Monica Mountains. I am in walking distance of miles of beautiful hiking trails, driving distance to the beaches, and many beautiful attractions in Southern California. My home is like a vacation retreat. However, I am a very busy person and I need an energetic hard working person to help me out caring for everything. I need help feeding the horses, cleaning the horse stalls, taking care of the gardens, cleaning the pool, and other chores around the house. The work is hard work and you will get dirty. I also have two big dogs who love their mountain retreat!

    I give preference to people with horse experience and who can stay for at least 3 months.

    If you like to work hard and play hard this is the perfect place for you!

    Note: Since I am in very high wildfire danger zone there is absolutely NO smoking anywhere on my property!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have endless opportunities to immerse yourself in nature, with beautiful hiking trails right across from the front door. There are lots of opportunities to work outdoors and live a life full of fresh air, beautiful views, and tons of nature and wildlife. I am a very driven, hands-on person who is mechanically inclined and do most of my own home maintenance so you may find me repairing plumbing, installing irrigation lines, fixing fences, repairing my 4-wheeler, using the chainsaw to cut up wood, working on the pool equipment, and many other repairs.

  • Ayuda


    Volunteer must be able and/or willing to lift 50 lbs and drive a 4-wheeler. Tasks include feed, groom, and turn out horses, feed dogs, water plants, clean pool, pull weeds, and tend to gardens, light housecleaning and assist with other household chores. The volunteer must be reliable, strong, hard-working, and flexible. You will get dirty and the help can be dusty at time. The chores take a maximum of 25 hours per week, Mon - Friday, but the tasks are SPREAD OUT THROUGHOUT THE DAY. Some tasks are in the early morning, some early afternoon, and some in the evening because they align with the times that the animals need to be fed. The volunteer must be able to commit to at least a 3 month stay.

    Some of the tasks include:
    - Feeding horses and dogs in mornings
    - Cleaning horse stalls
    - Feeding horses in afternoon
    - Weeding gardens, cleaning pool, watering plants
    - Feeding dogs in the evening
    - Bringing horses in at night

    NOTE: I cannot accept dogs or other pets and I cannot accommodate more than one person at a time.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    You will stay in a small downstairs bedroom with nearby bathroom in a 4 bedroom 3 bath home. The home is on a 1.5 acre property with a pool, spa, sauna, outdoor firepit, and gorgeous mountain views. We are somewhat away from the city so resources are not in walking distance. It is best if volunteer has their own transportation. I provide a stipend for food, but I do not cook and don't have time to shop for your groceries however so you will be responsible for obtaining food and preparing your own meals.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Helpers will need to provide their transportation either by bringing a vehicle or paying for Rideshare.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have strong wifi in my house and there is a table/desk in the bedroom for working.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I provide a parking spot for one vehicle. I do not provide electricity, water, or a drainage area for campers.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 861127856437