An exoerience of crofting life on a unique and isolated peninsula overlooking Skye on the North West Coast of Scotland

Country

Gran Bretaña

390 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    37  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    62.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We live in a unique and isolated peninsula on the North West Coast of Scotland, overlooking Skye. We are situated right on the coast with access to a boat and kayaks and some of Scotland's most remote landscape and wildlife. We work together with neighbours to run our crofts and gardens. A newly planted native wood is one of our exciting shared projects. We feel our ventures offer experience of crofting and land management combined with stunning scenery and opportunities to explore the local area and the Isle of Skye. We have a caravan overlooking the sea for our workdays this year and offer warm hospitality. We keep sheep, horses and poultry so can offer the animal lover some great experience of animal care and welfare.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We offer an opportunity to learn about crofting in a remote community. We have local knowledge of the wildlife and the hills, where there is abundant walking and cycling. We would support and encourage outings beyond our area as I work for the NHS in Skye and can arrange trips over there . We have a piper in the family so can offer some traditional music when he is at home!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Working with us requires a willingness to be flexible as tasks change depending on the weather and other factors so planning is often a bit last minute! We mainly seeking help with outdoor tasks of gardening, help with managing pastures and crofting. Help with the livestock is optional. On wet days we would find other projects such as restoring sheds and painting, Help with housekeeping on rainy days is also very welcome.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Depending on our calendar, accommodation will be a caravan, cottage or a shared house. It is important that we chat about the accommodation in advance to ensure everyone is comfortable with the arrangements .It is likely that room sharing will be necessary. We are very flexible about meal preparation and schedules and will offer a mix of family meals and self catering. We are an isolated community with limited amenities so good planning is necessary!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Trips to Skye and other local areas can be arranged. Public transport needs a bit of organisation due to our remoteness!! The local village is small so there isn't a lot of recreational opportunities except enjoying the wonderful scenery and walks. There is a lively local pub and a cafe. There is some lovely history here , ancient brochs and the famous Eilean Donan Castle. You need to be physically fit to make the most of your stay with us, happy to be in quite an isolated part of the world, content with your own company and willing to be flexible and open to last minute changes in schedules.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    workaways with campervans are very welcome but it is important to chat to us about arrangements.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (4.5)


























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 854697646519