Join an American-Norwegian family at their countryside property in rejuvenating a forest, Norway

Country

Noruega

actualizado  

43 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are looking for one or two persons that could come help us with general forestry like woodchipping, cleaning up the forest floor and planting of new vegetation. The work is physically demanding - it's not gardening:).





    About us:

    We are two American-Norwegian families sharing a property of 6,5 hectars in the countryside at a 45 min drive from Oslo. We have large gardens, an outdoor swimming pool and a forested area with mostly young birch and spruce.

    We are currently in the process of thinning out the vegetation and transforming the brush into a diverse and sunopen forest where we will interplant the native trees with different nuts, hazels and fruit species.

    We have enormous amounts of decaying tree tops and branches from a previous logging. As topsoil is somewhat scarce on the property, we use the tops and branches for making new soil by composting and building hugelkultur mounds around the property.



    More details about us:

    The property belongs to siblings Lisbeth and Christopher, both in their sixties.

    In July Christopher and his wife Marie will be present all the time.
    Christopher is a pain researcher and is fluent in English. Marie is a lighting designer and is fluent in French.

    Lisbeth is a teacher and is fluent in German. Her husband Arild is a researcher on Norwegian-Russian relations and is fluent in Russian.


    In the event of heavy rainfall, we might clean out of the barn instead of working in the forest. We also have a lot of windows that could do with a cleaning if we find the time for it.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Workawayers will have a good chance to practice English, and to learn about forestry, tree planting, composting and hugelkultur. They will learn how to use a wood chipper/weed wacker.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help with thinning out the forest: Pulling out thinned trees from the brush for wood chipping. We might rent a stub grinder to remove some old stubs - this work is a little bit physically demanding.

    We will consider many options, but are preferable thinking about having two persons stay for two weeks in July.
    Most of the time we will work alongside the workawayers.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido
    Ruso: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are maybe not very much into learning new languages, but are happy to help with the languages we speak!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Your bedroom will be in our main house. You will probably need to share the room with another Workawayer, but the room is big. We will all have our meals together in the kitchen or in the garden.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Workawayers can relax by the pool in their spare time. Oslo isn't far and neither is the coastline, the city of Moss and Sweden.

    We (the hosts) will be mostly staying at the property, working in the gardens and in the forest.

    Trains/buses: There is a bus stop close to the property. The bus goes only in the morning and in the afternoon.
    The train station is a 15 min drive away and we can to a certain extent be helpful with getting there.

    It is however great if you have your own car.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Most vans can be parked outdoor at the property.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Pets might be ok, depends on what kind.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 849129693482