Participate in the restoration of our property and enjoy the cuisine, wine and life in the Gers, France

Country

Francia

40 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    511

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! We are an English family of four living in the Gers in the south of France. We bought a country house three years ago and our intention is to restore the house and outbuildings/towers and eventually convert it into a family home and boutique hotel. We have a small dog called chien chien who can mostly be found chasing the children around the land. We live in a small town called Nogaro, there are various events throughout the year including antiques markets, vintage car racing, GT racing, truck racing, theatre productions, wine tasting and Armagnac tasting. The town offers a large variety of shops, restaurants and cafes and has a vibrant but relaxing feel. We are 1 hour from Lourdes and 1 hour 40 from both Toulouse and Bordeaux, both of which are accessible by buses from our town or trains from the next town on. The weather from spring to end of autumn is mainly glorious sunshine perfect for AL fresco dining or exploring the many beautiful lakes with man made beaches and bars and various landmarks. With a view of the mountains from one end of the town to sprawling countryside the other our location is an ideal break for travelling tourists.
    The house is set in three acres of land and is an old french style property with high ceilings and exquisite tiled floors. The house also has two large towers one of which is nearing completion after restoration and the other is part of our project. There are also a couple of outbuildings that are structurally in great condition but need building work to convert into a usable space. The main house and the orangery requires work on the beautiful windows, painting and general decoration. The garden is in need of a good pruning, of which a gardener has begun but still requires constant attention.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The Gers is in the heart of Gascony and is best known for its cuisine, wine and relaxed pace of life. The many restaurants offer local delights at extremely affordable prices and wine can be bought straight off the tap (after sampling them) for as little as a euro a litre. The town plays host to a famous racetrack 'Paul Armagnac' and has a line-up of exciting events throughout the year. The house was built in 1852 and still displays many of the architectural gems from that time, to work on a house like this is like stepping back in time and understanding different buildings materials and methods used to enable us to replicate and restore it back to its former glory. We like to visit antiques shops and restore furniture for use in the house and there are many places like this on our doorstep.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Window frame and shutter sanding and re-painting, interior painting, plastering, general gardening, roof cleaning, general decorating and general building and clearing.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We are offering a three storey tower with spiral staircase and views of the mature gardens and a private terrace. The tower is split with a ground floor living area equipped with coffee machine and drinks fridge on to a first floor bathroom with roll top bath and victorian style shower and wash basin and the top floor bedroom with dressing table, wardrobe and bedside tables. We have WIFI throughout the property. All meals, snacks and beverages will be provided including BBQ's (weather permitting).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have two small children, our daughter is four and our son is 2 so we are very family orientated. My husband is an electrical engineer and has a business here. My children are both out of the house at either school or with a nanny three or four days a week so work can happen uninterrupted during the day but wednesdays they are both at home and we go and have some fun in the sunshine and explore. We like to go for long lazy walks with picnics, we love to BBQ in the summer and visit new towns and restaurants locally. There are lots of small towns very close to us that we visit for markets which happen from spring time to end of autumn each day and there are some bargains and antiques to be found. We also have friends that produce wine and are always happy to show off their produce to our visitors. There are buses from our town that can take you to all of the places you might want ti visit with very reasonable pricing.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 834781273915