actualizado  

Farmstay and Community Engagement in San Salvador de Baru, Costa Rica

  • 712 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 23 jul 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello!

    I'm Sam, and I live in a magical little place on the side of a mountain in the South Pacific side of Costa Rica with my two kids (who are with me half the time). The property is secluded, private, quiet.... several acres of fruit trees, a greenhouse, and some really epic spots for a morning coffee, stroll through the jungle, or evening fire. Also a short drive or day-trip to lots of beautiful nature spots.

    I'm very real/authentic, and seeking people who can skip the surface chatter and get deep quickly (not that you need to be my best friend, but if the conversation doesn't have some depth, then... why?). I can be very social, but also like my space and alone time. I'm a very orderly/clean type of person and it's extremely important for me that all spaces are well kept and free from clutter! I also HIGHLY VALUE critical thinking and common sense (so if you're the type of person who would stack wet dishes on top of dry dishes, for example, you need not apply!).

    I believe our mission is to be the purest expression of God's nature as possible... among other things, this means doing everything with excellence and beauty whether it's cleaning the toilet or planting a flower. I'm looking for people who really desire to have impeccable character, try to the best of their ability to have all thoughts/speech/actions coming from a root motivation of love, and able to give & receive instruction/correction without taking offense. These characteristics are a good foundation for peace, and this is very important to me.

    The work can vary quite a bit just depending what projects are happening when you come! Could be pruning fruit trees, moving dirt for the greenhouse, building something new to improve the spaces, harvesting/cooking food from the land, painting a room, cleaning, carpentry work, or creating an art project for my kids.

    My intention for hosting Workawayers is not just to receive help at my place, but for the guests to engage with different community projects/farms as part of their work exchange. We're involved in a collective with several neighboring farms which work together as a group each week, rotating around our farms to be more efficient and have much more fun :). There is also a community garden, recycling center, and various community-oriented initiatives to help out with.

    You can plan on 4 days of work each week, 7am - 12pm (best to catch the morning hours for working).

    Food for basic meals is provided, and creating meals from the land is encouraged/appreciated!! There's a small grocery store nearby if you'd like to buy special items as well...

    There are 7 cats & 3 dogs on the farm, so you can't be allergic to those...
    I also have my two exceptionally awesome kids every other week (11 and 13 years old). My daughter would be happy to learn a new recipe or bake something yummy with you. My son is the type to play legos or make something explode. They both enjoy art, and are sure to make you laugh with their witty comments :)

    ***NOTE*** This is the jungle... there are big loud clumsy flying bugs that pee on you in the forest. It's hot/humid, and you will be sweating profusely at times. There's no McDonalds or double-stuffed Oreos. Only one brand of peanut butter, the Vitamix is sacred, and makeup is futile.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Experience the life in a small mountain village, connect with community, learn some permaculture/gardening skills.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    - Fruit trees/greenhouse/general land maintenance
    - DIY building projects/carpentry
    - Engaging with my kids, teaching them something new/cool from your own interests/experiences
    - Cooking (especially if you can help utilize food the land is producing!)
    - General cleaning

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There's a couple different areas where you could stay, depending on how many people are here at the moment & what makes the most sense for the guests. There's a main house with 2 bedrooms/kitchen/bathroom, and a more rustic cabin which does not have its own cooking facilities.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There's quite an expat population around me with community events all the time. Within a walk or a day trip to hikes/waterfalls/beaches/town. Bus transport does exist, but also walking & hitchhiking are common. I personally drive around quite a bit so getting to the store or an event would not be difficult...

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Fiber optic internet is available, and the property has several inspiring areas where you can work in peace, immersed in nature.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours per day, 4 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 832948275983

Comentarios (6)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)









Reception, cleaning, yoga or events in Monteverde, Costa Rica
Help with babysitting in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica