Relax and heal in the mountains caring for animals and garden near Kyparissia, Greece

Country

Grecia

387 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    08/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am looking for caretakers, interested in the beauty of simple greek lifestyle who would like to make this healing place a more beautiful and functional one. This volunteer program is especially suitable for:
    - singles
    - couples
    - people 50+
    - people with medical background

    High­lights
    - Meet Moses the cat and his tribe - the Masters of Heart Coherence
    - Experience minimalism - and enjoy simple greek lifestyle
    - Make an impact - show us your skills and creativeness
    - Create beauty - Artists and Creatives welcome
    - Meet animals on eyesight - and learn to talk to them

    The program not only for animal lovers and animal caretakers. My name is Marie-Anne. I am a retired bavarian vet and animal whisperer. When I first came to Greece I was stunned by all the suffering I saw - in humans, animals and nature. A lot of violence here, maltreating each other seems to be usual. Meaning each spring the strays at the beach are poisened and killed out of mere despair and lack of knowledge.

    My project is about creating a difference and showing that it is not so complicated to do so. I moved to Greece and rented a little neglected olive groove house nearby. First step was to create a livable place there. We now have 50 qm with bath, sleeping room, main room with kitchen, sun terrace and garden. The house is in a deserted area, no noise, 300 m up the mountain and 2,5 km from the Ionian sea. Wild and beautiful surroundings.

    Short after the place was there, stray animals came searching for help and food. We now have a group of 4 cats living in the house, 1 stray cat in the process of moving in, a few stray cats that want to be wild, a dog that found us a few days before dying from dog malaria, wild turtles and other animals passing by looking for medical care, water, food and a bit of love. We respect their will and do what we are called for.

    Now that the place and the animals are there in a basic form, we need to make it beautiful, repair, recycle, do landscape and garden work, make it a better place and give it back it's natural beauty and order. That is a lot of work to do that sometimes needs specialists and sometimes needs all round caretakers.

    The olive groove house is the place where you as volunteer are ment to live. It is apt for a single person or a couple. Depending on your talents and knowledge you can help to take this place to the next level - make it beautiful, give it a natural touch and still improve the situation of the animals living there or passing by there. We are always looking for skilled craftsmen, artists, photographers, social media specialists or caretakers - there is nearly nothing we won't find helpful. Your stay will be 2 to 6 weeks - time to leave your footprint here. In case you are doing maintenance or garden you will be with our Albanian gardener Ilia, in case you are cleaning, painting or doing art you will be with our Syrian house manager Nasrin, in case you are doing online work, you will work with me.

    As said before: essentials are honesty, truthfulness and reliability. We expect you to communicate open and non violent. We prefer quiet and clean people. It is a non smoking area and house, no drugs, no noise, no excess of alcohol. Visits of foreigners in your time here have to be talked about and approved in advance. You are supposed to be at the house each night, as you need to care for the animals.

    What we offer is a healing place, silent nature, purity, empathy, heartfulness and any transfer of knowledge or healing advice you may need. At least two of the stationary cats already have healing abilities and enhanced heart coherence. We offer animal contact on eyesight.

    Equipment: please bring our own laptop if you want to do online work and bring your own art equipment, if you want to do artwork.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The main thing you can do in this place is to relax and heal, calm down from the every day stress and conflicts of life. The cats are masters of heart coherence and I am a former vet, specialized on naturopathy, homeopathy and acupuncture as well as resilience training. I can teach you taming animals, communicating with animals, and awareness with animals as well as answer your questions on medical subjects and personal resilience. I have a life time experience in treating animals and humans in all sorts of illnesses and conflicts which you can profit of. Though you might be used to sharing meals I can teach you to do fasting especially intermittent fasting. I myself do 18:6 right now. This is why I won't offer to share meals but Sunday dinner or lunch.

    I lead an academy for consciousness work and of course workawayers can participate in the online classes that suit them. If you have any questions on online work, online marketing and creating your own online business I can help you with that - by the way the guesthouse has WiFi and speedy internet.

    The area here does not offer much cultural things. There are a view ruins, nearly now bigger town, definitely no festivals or bigger events. For this you need to visit Athens which is a 4 hours exhausting drive from here.

    So let me put it straight: this is a very calm, very natural healing and relaxing place, very apt to find yourself, contemplate, train being alone and work on your shadow aspects. This here is no party area. We live in a lonely place 300 m up the mountain and 2,5 km away from the sea. You can find jackals, vipers, black widow spiders and centripeds here. It's wild and beautiful. I love it. If you look for more than nature, do not apply.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Tagesablauf
    8:00 animal feeding, changing the water, cleaning animal plates
    8:00 animal care such as grooming, caretaking, walking the dog, playing with them
    9:30 Q&A talk with Marie-Anne
    10:00 house keeping and cleaning in your place - we expect you to be a clean person
    10:30 - 13:30 find yourself work to do in maintenance, painting, repairing, gardening, beautfying accourding to the list we made for the week
    14:00 make sure of your resting time with the animals or go to the sea for a swim, or use this time for shopping
    16:00 walk the dog - there will not always be a dog here, but from October to May we usually have one
    18:00 water the garden or do some harvesting, planting or weeding anything that needs to be done in the garden accourding to the list
    19:00 feed all animals, change water
    19:30 cook and enjoy the fireplace in winter or the roof terrace in summer
    late: let the dog out for a pee before you go to sleep
    After waking up and having your greek cup of coffee you will start with animal feeding and animal care. At 9:30 I am there for you to plan the day or answer the questions and needs you have. You are quite sure to go through an emotional process while staying here. This place has high energy quality, is full of nothingness, so you will meet yourself and your shadows and Moses will be your cat therapist through all the time.
    In the forenoon you are expected to do your housekeeping, washing etc and then go for the volunteer work you selected. The thing to accept is that your animal care and garden care is on daily base. It is not too much to do but daily. Your free time is mainly in the early afternoon.


    Garden watering can be work in summer, and you are supposed to care for the plants, look at their needs and not do watering automatically. It is about plant care too.

    In the evening you are free after feeding the animals - the only thing is to let the dog out for a pee before you go to sleep. You will meet a lot of nothingness, maybe the first time realize how loud your normal life is, because here you will hear nothing but nature.

    The guesthouse has no TV and no Radio - on purpose. But is has good and free internet. You are expected to be quiet and not noisy.

    Free Time
    Your free time will usually be in the afternoon and after evening feeding. This place is best for people who love nature, the sea, sunsets and enjoy quiet introspection. Great place for reading, writing, painting, meditating, doing yoga or Qi Gong.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Greek: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am an author and I do live talks online twice a month with international speakers see FutureLink Youtube channel:

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Bungalow
    Accomodation in the 50 qm guesthouse with bathroom incl. washing machine, sleeping room, main room with kitchen, sunterrace. The house has a woodstove for the heating in winter and an aircondition for the cooling in summer.
    The house will be professionally cleaned before your stay
    The house is equipped with basic houshold goods, towels, bed cloth, kitchen equipment.

    Pickup at Kalamata airport during daytime or Pickup at Kyparissia bus station during daytime is included.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This region is called Messinias, it is not much culture here, but nature pure and untouched. This stay is for people who want to relax, retreat and heal. No good for people who are afraid of poisonous animals or solitude. Not the place for people who consider feeding and playing with animals as work. You should only apply in case you love animals especially cats and if you know how they behave naturally.

    This place here is an experiment in alternative animal protection and welfare. Your interacting with the animals and making pictures and posting them is needed and wanted. I have a youtube channel, a telegram group, a facebook page as well as an instagram account for this experiment. I would appreciate if you are used to interact with social media and post from time to time.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    The internet is quite good for Greece, download 12 Mbit/s, upload 1 Mbit/s, Ping 25 sec; Stationary line - no limits in GB - you should make sure that your work and the task of caring for animals and garden do not get in conflict concerning time and attention.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    You can park a van in the olive groove but you need to make sure that the van can drive up the mountain, the last 50 m is stone road. I can send you a video of the way up so you can verify.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20 hours a week (animal care, animal petting, grooming and playing with animals is daily and not included in this 20 hours)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 823865884458