Join our family, and help with yard/garden/household tasks in Toronto, Canada




621 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Please let me know if you speak Spanish!

    WELCOME as a member of the family! We are four adults and the youngest is 22 years. Our home is located in a good neighbourhood, a 5 minute walk to the subway, and a short ride to downtown (Yonge & Bloor). We can host only one Workawayer at a time. We enjoy travelling and meeting new people from different cultures and backgrounds. Please share with us your travel and adventure stories!

    ** You will need to have been fully vaccinated - with booster - against covid at least 14 days before you arrive at our home. Everyone in our family is now fully vaccinated and boosted/recovered from covid. For our community and continued safety - we still ask that you please inquire only if you are still cognizant about safety regarding covid (eg. wearing a mask when there is some risk). Please also note that you will not be able to "isolate" at our home if you get covid and will need to find an alternative place to stay (Example: a hotel at your own expense) until you are recovered.

    (It will be a Bonus if you are a native Spanish speaker, but not necessary. Having hosted for four years we have had the pleasure of welcoming travellers from Brazil, Chile, China, Columbia, France, Germany, Iran, Japan, Mexico, The Netherlands, Peru, Spain, Uruguay.....)

    Most diets can be easily accommodated as one of us is vegetarian, one near vegan, but two of us eat meat and fish. We enjoy cooking with fresh healthy ingredients and experiencing food from all over the world.

    There is one small pet rabbit here too that we consider to be part of the family so you must enjoy small animals - and a bonus if you already love rabbits! She is super friendly and loves a lot of attention so please be kind to her and pay her attention during some of your free time.

    Two of us here only speak English, so if you want to improve your English conversation skills this is a good opportunity. However one of our motives for hosting is to share/learn languages so we kindly ask that IF you are a native Spanish speaker please speak your language as follows: I ask that you please communicate with me and Meghan only in Spanish - but speak to the other two of us here in English. Muchas Gracias.

    We really enjoy hosting visitors and welcoming new guests into our family. We have a minimum two week stay (Often with possibility to extend.) We enjoy hearing about your day, your travels, experience and life, and would like a guest that will join us in good conversation. I prefer an ambience without the distraction of people attached to their digital devices. To be completely clear - If you are someone who will spend more than one hour of time per day on any combination of screen (phone, computer, tv, or any digital device - this includes social media, movies, digital games, Google searches as a few examples) please do not request to stay with us. We are not a hotel or hostel, but a welcoming family home. We hope you take time to enjoy our city, explore the neighbourhood, and you should want to spend time in conversation outside of your working hours and join us in meals and events when possible. We hope to make genuine connections with you and remain friends after you continue on your travels.

    You must be a person that enjoys the start of the day and will get up with sunrise (or earlier) every day. Please only request to stay with us if this is already your nature and part of your daily habit - not something that I need to ask of you. Sharing breakfast, having coffee together, or an early morning walk is something I really enjoy doing - so please let me know if this is something you would like too.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Between May and October there are opportunities to go to our cottage on Long Point near Port Rowan (for a weekend or several days). This is a beautiful area known for birding and also has a great freshwater beach. When we go there one of us will drive you there and back. It will be a mix of some chores and free/relaxation time up there. Long Point is a biosphere reserve on a 30+ kilometer sandbar with gorgeous beach about 2.5 hours from Toronto.

    Niagara Falls is only about 1.5 hours from here too - and a must see!

    Our family has many interests and we are happy to include you once things open up and are available to us again... - such as: hiking/walks, art gallery visits, blues music festivals, cultural festivals, rock climbing, rollerblading, enjoying the beach at the cottage, slack lining, skating, snowboarding....

    Our home has a lovely garden/back yard and deck area where you can enjoy a cup of coffee or eat outside in the summer. There is some wildlife - rabbits nested in our shrubs this spring, squirrels, chipmunks are a daily sighting. We enjoy a neighbourhood walk regularly and of course you will be welcome to join us!

  • Ayuda


    Let us know what skills you bring- can you Garden? Clean well? Have any construction skills? Sew? Teach dance? Set up a charity or funding program? Other? Not everyone is suited to all types of tasks and together we will decide what is best for you. Depending on your skill set we may send a more detailed outline of possible chores after you contact us.

    We ask for a commitment of 24 hours of working per week and in addition to that a meal you will cook for the five of us that will include preparation, cooking, and cleanup. (we will shop for and pay for the ingredients). It would be nice if you enjoy cooking - then any additional cooking that we request for the family will be counted towards working hours.

    As we are working, and going to school, some of the workaway hours may need to be scheduled on the weekend, and a few on one or two weeknights - but you can still schedule off two days without work, example Fri&Sat or Sun&Mon. We consider your preferences and input when creating the schedules together.

    During the spring/summer/fall there are more tasks outside in the yard/garden. Outdoor tasks may include help with the yard such as lawn and garden care or raking leaves. During the winter months (usually December to March) you may help to shovel snow from the driveway.

    There may be some small home improvement tasks such as preparing for painting, maybe refinishing wooden doors? Other tasks may include sorting attic and basement, moving some small furniture and organizing around the house.

    Also, there may be daily and weekly cleaning tasks of bathrooms, kitchen, living areas. There may also be some cleaning tasks outdoors, for example the car or deck furniture.

    Some hours may be scheduled for help with reading in Spanish, or grammar study IF you are able to do this.

    You may also help take care of the pet rabbit - and this would include cleaning the cage regularly.  

    You must have a positive outlook on working and do it with energy and efficiency. You should be able to self manage, prioritize, and keep track of what you have done. Working hours are intended for working and we ask that you refrain from using your phone, eating your breakfast or lunch, or other personal matters in this time. It would be good if you can manage your schedule and keep track of your hours without reminders.

    If you are interested, there can also be a few hours towards helping a project that gives back to our community while raising funds to support women and children living in poverty in Central America. This project is a new idea - so I am open to ideas - and also it can wait for the right person to help me take it off the ground.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are four native English speakers. Two of us here will only speak to you in English for your language practice. Another two are learning Spanish and request that communication be in Spanish, if this is your language. However speakers from any language / continent are welcome !!

  • Alojamiento


    Private bedroom space that only you use (see photos) but the rest of the house and two bathrooms are shared. Evening meals are usually eaten together with the family and some lunches also eaten together. Otherwise, the fridge and pantry are well stocked so you can prepare what you like. We will do the grocery shopping and provide food to eat while you are in the house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are non-smokers and do not drink alcohol in the house. We will only accept a non-smoker and someone who will not drink alcohol while on the property.

    We are within a 5 min walking distance to library, indoor pool, gym, indoor skating rink, cafes, restaurants, tennis courts (winter too! - platform tennis), a park, and neighbourhood shops. We are a short walk to the subway with a 20 minute ride to Bloor/Yonge – downtown. 

Toronto is a diverse multicultural center with almost any kind of activity that you can think of. There are numerous art galleries, museums, theatre venues.... some of which can be quite costly, but there are also many free events throughout the city too. 

    We are a 5 min walk to Royal York subway station - close to downtown. It will take you under 45 minutes to get to our home from Union Train station, the Bay Dundas Bus terminal, Or Pearson Airport. Toronto is well connected with public transit at all hours of the day and night. There are taxi services here as well as Uber but you can go almost anywhere on the TTC (Toronto’s public transit), and cash fare is only $3.25.

    As mentioned above, IF you are a Spanish/French speaker we may schedule a few hours per week where you would help me/Meghan with Reading or some type of grammar lessons and this time would be agreed upon beforehand and counted towards your working hours - However, all other conversations we have in Spanish (our chance to practice) or English (your chance to practice) are not counted toward the hours – that part of culture/language exchange is considered a bonus for each of us. Two of us here will only speak to you in English so you too will benefit from language practice - but please note again that I will ask that you speak to me and Meghan in your native language (Spanish only) during your time here.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    24 hours per week plus one dinner cooked for the family per week (working 5 days per week with 2 days off)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 818631485856