Peaceful yurt in mountains south of Granada, Spain



530 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    80.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    UPDATE: Last minute looking for an independent-minded person to help out for two weeks with some CCPP (cooking, cleaning, painting and pets). Experience with horses is a great plus, but not essential. It's a great time of year up here when other parts of the country are super hot at night. Period = 2 weeks.

    "We moved to a cortijo in the green Alpujarras region, south of Granada, in 2016 and since then have been moving towards establishing a forest garden and mountain home and refuge that welcomes open-minded and respectful people.

    There are lots of different things that we could do with help with, so if you have a particular interest or just want to spend time doing general work in the mountains then get in touch. If you have an interest or experience in natural building, forest gardens, agroforestry, jumping under waterfalls, sloshing through water channels and watching films after a hot bath then jump to the front of the queue. We have two friendly dogs Tarboosh and Coco (you will fall in love), Yuki the cat, Valiente our beautiful horse and ducks and chickens 15 minutes along a footpath from the village of Atalbeitar (no car access).

    The property is quite big with various terraces in differing states of planting and development with lots of water running through and fruit trees you can pick from in season. We think we are easy-going and are flexible about timings of requested help. Help will be split between specific projects and general work around the property.

    You probably won't fit in here if you can't stand the sound of running water, hate mountain views, can't handle a queer/gay-friendly set-up (or are sexist or racist), or take life or yourself too seriously. The house isn't vegan or vegetarian, but you can be."

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Hi, I'm Dean. I've been around the block a bit and moved to this part of the world after many years in the Middle East. Don't worry I won't bore you with endless slide shows of photos of me petting camels but if you are learning or interested in Arabic then i could help.
    I'm a native English speaker so if that is something you'd like to practice then no problemo. We have lots of books and films here which you are welcome to peruse and there is a piano with views over the mountains. It's a great place to centre yourself as no traffic noise or pollution but close enough to several villages to meet interesting and diverse crowd.

    Fernando is originally from Venezuela but has spent his last decades based in Europe working in the dance world. At the moment he is traveling to work abroad for certain periods as he transitions to spending more time here in the Alpujarras.

    As for learning from the activities on the land we are very much novices ourselves and learning as we go along, but we are very open to hearing ideas from others so if you have something you are keen to try out (building technique, planting technique, particular plants etc) then get in touch and maybe we can try it. The fruit trees are well established but the gardens are at their early stage of development.

  • Ayuda


    Growing vegetables
    Building preparation
    Water channel-scaping
    Fruit picking
    Jam making
    Wood chopping
    Other artistic or technical pursuits depending on what your interests are.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Arabic: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    Italian: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    There is a beautiful yurt on the property and rooms inside the main house, which are available depending on the time of year, number of people visiting and previous commitments.

    There is currently one bathroom in the house and summer outdoor bathroom facilities on the terrace near the yurt.

    The property is off-grid and we are careful about what products we use in the kitchen and bathrooms in order to respect the earth.

    Depending on time of your and length of stay Workaway friends are welcome to use the bathroom, kitchen, living room and music room in the house, in addition to their sleeping quarters. Power is solar and drinking water comes from a piped fountain behind the house.

    The house has internet which you can use as you wish. See photos to get an idea. There is no direct road access to the property. Access is along a pleasant path, 15 minutes walk from the village of Atalbeitar.

    We love the tranquility this provides while only a short walk from the village and walking distance to the other villages in the Taha valley where there are a number of bars, restaurants and places of interest.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The area is peaceful and beautiful with lots of walks outside the door. There are some nice waterfalls just at the bottom of the property and more in the surrounding area. The nearest village of Atalbeitar is home to an eclectic mix of Spanish and internationals and the monthly market in the village or weekly market in nearby Pitres are good places to meet people of similar interests.

    There are also yoga, pilates, mountain biking and other sporting options in the area.

    The nearest beaches are about an hour away by car and Granada is 80mins by car. You are welcome to join us on trips to the beach or Granada when we go or there are daily bus services to Orgiva (weekly markets and communes) and Granada.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 799757167582