Help renovate a small house in the middle of the Montsant Natural Park, Catalonia, Spain

  • España
  • 93 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 24/12/2022



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción



    I am Pere, a 38-year-old guy who is fixing a small house in the middle of the Montsant Natural Park (Catalonia, Spain).

    One of the peculiarities of the house is that it can only be reached by foot (1 hour on the way). Luckily I have the permission to put a boat in the Margalef dam and save a 40 minutes walk. I use the boat basically to load the materials to fix the house. I also have a tractor with a tow truck to get the material from the boat to the house.
    The house is still under construction, but we can cook, eat and sleep inside with basic comfort.

    I am looking for up to three people to help me with the house and the land around it (gardening, small building tasks like painting, making wood, etc.) The idea is to spend two or three days working full time but taking the time to enjoy the magnificent surroundings (hiking, fishing, swimming, exploring, resting, yoging, reading, playing...). After those working days, we will return to the "civilization" (Cornudella del Montsant) where I have an other house. We will have a nice hot water shower and socialise on the town :) You can spend 3-4 days on the house in order to get recovered from the work :P

    Some day I will have some animals and a productive garden and live on the Natural Park house! For the moment I only have some bees that are trying to survive there.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Both houses are located at the region of Priorat. This is the place to be in Catalonia if you like wine, delicious food and olive oil!

    The Montsant mountain (inside the Priorat region) is also an internationally renowned climbing area. Just next to Cornudella, there is Siurana, a privileged place for climbers.

    Within the Natural Park, around the house, there are many hikings to do with incredible landscapes, caves, rivers, etc. The house is in a small valley, in a very quite, peacefull and relaxing environment. There is a small river just on front of the house where you can swim (if the water is warm enough!). You can also fish in the river (no-kill terms) or collect some aromatic plants to enrich the meals.

    Spending a week or ten days between the houses in the Park and Cornudella you will enjoy a wild and natural environment in the Park while having time to recover in a paceful town like Cornudella, drink very good wines and eating delicious traditional meals.

    I speak Catalan and Spanish (mother languages), French (bilingual) and English (not fluent but we will understand each other). If you need to practice one of these languages, you are welcome!

  • Ayuda


    I need people to help me do various tasks, such as loading materials or equipment on the boat, clearing the surroundings, gardening, making wood, moving stones and sand, etc.

    For the month of March I would like to clean the path that goes to the house. Some trees felt down (due to flood and big rains) and lie on the middle of the path. I want to take those trees to the house with the tractor, but I first need to cut the branches. So this will be our priority.

    There may be other tasks such as painting the wooden mezzanine or the inside walls of the house, general cleaning, etc.

    If you like cooking you are welcome to dedicate part of your time on it :) I love cooking and eating!

    VERY IMPORTANT: I'm looking for people for one week only. We'll spend 3 days on the natural park and then we will go back to Cornudella and spend the rest of the week there. A longer stay may be possible but I will be bussy and can't take care of you.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Catalan: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    House in Cornudella del Montsant town: I'm doing some works on this house too, so the confort will be very basic. This is a village house, located in the center of the town, close to the shops and bars, with 3 floors of about 60 square meters each floor.
    The first floor has a living-dining room, kitchen, toilets and a small room where I sleep.
    The second floor is under construction but it's almost finished. There is no furnitures yet, but I can put a mattress on the floor. There are two bedrooms and one WC with shower. The workawayers will have to sleep there. Each workawayer will have its own private room. The toilets are shared. Wifi connection available.

    House in the Natural Park of Montsant: this is a small construction of about 40 square meters with a wooden mezzanine. There is neither water nor electricity nor WC inside the house. Welcome to wild life-style! Outside the house there is a hose with water to wash the dishes, hands, and even use it as a shower. Inside the house there is a battery with a single light, enough to allow cooking and discussing with a drink before going to sleep. The dry toilets are located about 15 meters from the house. We all sleep on the mezzanine, with mattress directly on the wooden floor. Bed sheets are provided, but it’s preferable that you bring your own sleeping bag. There is the possibility to plant a tent outside and put the mattress inside if you want more privacy. No GSM network. I have an SOS satellite device just in case.

    I am not vegetarian but you are welcome if you are. We can cook without meet, just let me add some on my dish :P

    In Cornudella we can cook and eat in the house, in group or individually. There are also good bars and restaurants to eat good tapas and traditional food. I will invite you sometimes to taste some of them ;)

    In the Natural Park, the meals are in group. The breakfast is composed by bread, ham and other traditional dried meet, cheese, cookies, coffee, tee, honey, jam… For launch and dinner we will cook some pasta, rice, couscous, quinoa, beans, potatoes, vegetables, meat, fish... depending on the mood! I like to invent some dishes and you are very welcome to invent yours!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In Cornudella del Montsant: if you do not have your own vehicle you will be a bit limited on your movements because there are not too many public transportation facilities... There is a bus twice a day to go to Tarragona or Barcelona. In the free time Workawayers can visit wineries, climbing, hiking, visiting other towns (Siurana, Scala Dei, Albarca, Prades...)

    In the Park: there is no cell phone coverage in the house or its surroundings! I always carrie an SOS satellite phone in case there is an emergency. In the park workawayers can hike, swim in the river, fish, climb, meditate and practice yoga in a very peaceful site.

    There is a train station in a town called Borges del Camp where I can pick up you with my car. You can get there from Barcelona Sants train station. The closest cities are Reus and Tarragona.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 25 hours / week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 798528485183


Help us with animals and enjoy peaceful environment in Mijares, Spain
We are interested in meeting people interested in eco-sustainability in riudoms, Spain