Enjoy day-to-day life with us and help with some projects on the Saint Lawrence River, Clayton, USA & Central Florida

Country

Estados Unidos

80 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Enjoy day to day life on the Saint Lawrence River with my small family and me as we develop a system for producing vegetables to sustain us at our private home. This will include building a small greenhouse (2022), a water catchment system, and making the very best use of a small parcel of earth that surrounds our abode. It is best if you are knowledgeable and experienced with the aforementioned. Preference will be for a self starter who has gardening experience. Eventually, we also wish to install solar panels on our home, and we would invite Workawayers with related experience to get in touch. Workawayers with rough, DIY and/or finish carpentry experience will also be given priority as we wish to complete the renovation of the Spartan Imperial Mansion.

    The Workawayer's living quarters are within the two building home of artists who appreciate a nature loving lifestyle in a private, river front corner of a seasonal park. Helpers, two at a time, should have an appreciation for art, wildlife, music and diversity. Starting and maintaining small vegetable gardens and assisting with household chores on an equal level with us is expected. Cooking skills are appreciated but not required, however kitchen and house maintenance is distributed and should occur naturally. Painting, glasswork, music appreciation, dance, healthy cooking, river exploration, yoga, laughter and affection are commonplace as is a desire to learn and grow from one another. A sweet, older dog is an integral part of the family.

    The guest house is a 1956 Spartan Imperial Mansion; a 2BR - 1B mobile home with a gorgeous view of the islands. We continue to transform the interior of the house into a bright and comfortable artists' studio and the gardens will eventually provide for a healing retreat.

    In exchange for 4 hours of help 5 days per week, workawayers will be provided with a light breakfast, lunch and dinner. We expect that Workawayers will likely venture into the village on non-work days and find their own provisions for lunch and dinner. We will likely be cooking together most days as we expect to be enjoying one another's company. We do fairly well adhering to a healthy diet. Workawayers will stay in the guest unit.

    Workawayers may also have access to WiFi, kayaks, fishing from the dock (with reasonably priced NY State fishing license), and tours of the Thousand Islands Region. There are abundant tourist attractions, especially island castles, restaurants, entertainment, wineries, breweries, etc. Canada is very close to us and offers many additional places to explore once COVID restrictions are lifted.

    I am a Spanish language learner, so Spanish-fluent applicants are welcome to apply, especially if a mutual tutorial experience can be realized. Cigarette smoking is strongly discouraged as is unreasonable use of alcohol, excessive and unnecessary noise, etc.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Hosts are teachers and are into being creative each day; choreographing dance, arranging flowers, cooking, playing ukulele, repurposing projects, stained glass, kayaking, yoga, cooking, wine or beer tasting or exploring the islands. As career teachers, we love helping others learn the English language.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our two small homes occupy a fantastic, private corner of a seasonal park. Travellers will assist with gardening but also may help with the renovation of the Spartan Imperial Mansion, a 1956 mobile home. The most labor intensive tasks have been completed. Our small gardens need ongoing attention and a funky, open air space that doubles as a repurposing workshop needs to be kept semi orderly by sweeping up leaves, grass clippings, etc. We may need an extra hand staining a deck. We are converting a room in a small storage barn into a stained glass workshop. Workawayers would benefit most from staying for 3-4 weeks. Extended stays are negotiable after an opportunity to assess how well matched the guest and hosts are. This conversation will occur within one week of arrival. It's SO COOL to work while enjoying amazing views of the river!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I often travel to Spanish speaking communities. I wish to strengthen Spanish speaking skills. I have enjoyed a career as a teacher, so I love to teach English!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Workawayers will stay in the 1956 Imperial Mansion while tackling small renovation tasks to make the place shine. There is a double bed in the back bedroom and a twin bed in a second, tiny (but pretty) bedroom. We have installed an air conditioner in the living room and bedroom. We are very sensitive to unnecessary waste and insist that, like us, our guests seek to minimize power consumption, water use, etc. We also don't approve of flagrant intoxication of any kind. Keeping the spaces tidy is essential as is respecting our neighbors by adjusting voice volume in the evening, especially near the river as sounds travel easily. There are multiple laundries within a mile of us, and there's a clothes line available for your use. We'd prefer not to share our space with cigarette smokers.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There's so much to do and see in the Thousand Islands region; boat tours, castle and light house visits, fishing, art galleries and classes, restaurants, wineries, breweries, hiking, kayaking. The bridges to Canada are about 15 minutes away by car. Several cities, including Syracuse, NY, are about 90 minutes away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Small, friendly dogs are welcome.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 788958218888