Help with eco-system restoration in Magheracloone , Ulster, Ireland

Country

Irlanda

21 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Conan. I live on my family's small farm in Magheracloone Co. Monaghan.
    Here we are carrying out ecosystem restoration work.
    I have started practicing regenerative agriculture.
    Regenerative agriculture is crucial to curbing the negative environmental effects of our current food system, building soil sequestering carbon and rebalancing the water and N cycles.
    I have a small flock of sheep and some birds for regenerative grazing and soil building (and of course eggs) and a cat.
    There is also an orchard and food garden.

    As part of this work we have also formed a cooperative group with others in the area. We envision a more connected world where ecosystems are restored and thriving. Humans are working in cooperation with wider nature and one another and we all have the opportunity to explore our full human potential.
    We are also a part of the global network of Ecosystem Restoration Camps. We are planning to host camps for ecosystem restoration and are building an education centre for this work nearby.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have lively Irish folk and traditional music with regular sessions in the local pubs.
    Listeners musicians and singers are very welcome to join in and share the craic.
    There are varietiy of beautiful forest walks nearby in Dún na Rí Forest Park and many km of quiet country roads to explore by bike or by foot.
    Castles, ancient megalithic tombs, wells and fairy forts are waiting to be discovered.

    There is a visitor centre to one of Irelands most important poets Patrick Kavanagh, in nearby Inniskeen and a tour which takes in many local sites immortalised by Inniskeen's most famous son, with anecdotes, historical facts, wild rumours and, of course, poetry.

    There are many lakes around to fish or swim in.
    There is an adventure centre where canoes can be hired water-skiing, wakeboarding, orienteering, nature trails also available.

    There is a local craft tradition inspired by Italian lace that originated in the 19th century, Carrickmacross Lace was made famous by its inclusion in the wedding dresses of Princesses, Lace was introduced to Ireland in 1820 and lacemaking was learned by local women so they could earn some extra income. This tradition is maintained today, with beautiful lace, still hand-worked, by craftspeople at the Market Square gallery in the town.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I need help to clear old hedge growth, to plant new trees and hedges, to plant, tend and harvest food.
    We are at the early stages of this work so for now the only produce is eggs and only for own consumption.
    We want to grow food growing beds, to build soil and compost bays.
    There is some cleaning and painting to be done.
    You can learn about permaculture design as it is ongoing.
    You can learn about ecosystem restoration, soil health.

    In the mornings you will be working mainly outside, after that we will share lunch and you will be free for the afternoon and evenings to relax

    We will all share out the other small daily chores (cooking, washing dishes, fire, feed animals, clean) on a rota.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Intermedio
    Español: Intermedio
    Irish: Intermedio
    Greek: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Workawayers will have a private room inside.
    There is shared space to sit and relax to cook.
    There is WiFi
    Work schedule, Cleaning, Food prep etc will be on a weekly rota

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 781643719788