Learn about Renewable Energy on an Electric Catamaran in NZ - Sailing from Waiheke Island


Nueva Zelanda

114 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad



 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

  • Descripción



    I am passionate about many things, above all sustainability, social justice and making people smile :)

    If you have carpentry or mechanical engineering experience, like sailing boats and/or renewable energy and/or learning about ways to combine these technologies, then my next project may interest you.

    I need to sail our 42' catamaran "Vida" from Waiheke Island to Whangarei and spend 3-4 weeks working on the boat at Norsand boatyard. Planned work includes some minor repairs, finishing the conversion to electric propulsion (one engine converted already), upgrading the solar power system and various other jobs.

    My professional background is in power engineering, renewable energy and electric vehicles, but I also love connecting with nature, whether it be in or on the sea, in parks and mountains, or getting my hands dirty in the garden. I moved back to New Zealand in 2014 and joined an eco-village on Waiheke Island. While living in Norway during the six years prior I travelled and worked a lot around Europe and Asia and spent holidays on bicycle trips and volunteering on organic farms in Norway, Denmark, Germany and France.

    I have enjoyed non-competitive sailing for most of my life and have around 2 years of seatime on various sailing vessels in New Zealand and around the South Pacific ocean. I have personally skippered Vida on several coastal passages this year and on my family's first yacht "Atahua" in years past.

    I have several potential volunteers with sailing and general DIY experience, but none yet with experience in carpentry or mechanical engineering... would get priority.

    See you soon maybe :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am originally from New Zealand with a mix of mostly European and some Maori ancestry. I have lived, worked and played all over Aotearoa, as well as many other countries around the world from an early age. Other Kiwis often ask me where I'm from because of my accent and I usually reply "Earth"... partly in jest, but this does match my sense of where I come from and it is quicker than trying to explain all the places I have lived.

    Besides sharing stories about places we have been and cultures we have experienced, I will be happy to share my knowledge about renewable energy, including solar power systems, lithium battery storage, electric propulsion and hydro re-generation. I have also studied and practiced celestial and Polynesian navigation if anybody is interested, although I have to admit they are a bit rusty :)

    If you have an interest in sustainable living and intentional communities then you would also be welcome to visit the eco-village on Waiheke Island that is my home (although I'm not living here fulltime at present).

    I look forward to meeting some interesting people!

  • Ayuda


    For the trip up to Whangarei it would be great to have 2-3 more people, at least one of whom should have coastal sailing experience. Once we get to the boatyard I am ideally looking for people with skills in mechanics / mechanical engineering / boatbuilding and/or carpentry, but anybody with basic practical skills will be considered!

    My arms are slowly recovering from injuries, prolonged by the fact I didn't rest them suficiently earlier this year. I need people who will be happy doing light and occasional heavier work (not too heavy) under my instruction. I plan to engage professional boatbuilders from the boatyard for some of the service jobs, but there will be much we can do to prepare the work. You will also need to contribute to daily tasks like shopping, cooking and cleaning up.

    I enjoy every chance to practice my German and French, but for reasons of safety and practicality related to this project I would prefer to work with people who are fluent or at least proficient in English (Dansk / Norsk are fine also).

    It would be awesome if you also have a driving licence, but not a necessity :)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    Vida has three double cabins and by the end of refit we should have reclaimed the workshop / storage room back as a fourth single cabin / workshop. For the sail up to Whangarei there are presently two spare private cabins. Once in the boatyard we may continue to sleep on board and make use of the boatyard's shared facilities. Depending on timing and numbers we may alternatively be able to stay with my friends in Whangarei and/or rent a private house at the boatyard. I will cover cost of all meals, but will need help to actually buy the food, cook and wash up.

    It would be ideal to have people with similar dietary preferences, but I am pretty flexible (still learning myself also). I like organic food and produce, but also need to consider the carbon footprint and keeping within my budget. I try to limit sugar (help required), milk, wheat and understand we need to reduce meat consumption for reasons of sustainability and animal welfare.

    Last time I was in Whangarei they had a great farmers' market on Saturday with lots of local and organic produce, so hopefully that's still going when we are there.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The boatyard in Whangarei is around 3.7 km from the city centre. From memory there is a bus connection to the city 2-3 times every hour. I may also have access to a bicycle and/or car that we can use while we are there (if we can find somebody licenced to drive).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 777222327481