Join a small organic household with horses, goats and wonderful forests in Värska, Estonia

Country

Estonia

361 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    17  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    UPDATE! Sept 1st 2019: LOOKING FOR PEOPLE TO HELP PUT OUR ROOF ON BEFORE WINTER COMES..
    No experience necessary, you just can't be afraid of heights.. :)


    We are a young Estonian-Canadian family (Iisak, Maris and our 2-year old son Jaako). We live in an old farm property in the deep south of Estonia, surrounded by forests which we share with deer, moose, wild boar, foxes and endless species of birds. We live in the Setomaa area where the ancient Seto Culture is still very much alive (read more below).

    We are experimenting with permaculture and are striving to be as self-sufficient as possible and work lots with the other young awesome families in the nearby village. We ourselves enjoy fresh eggs from our chickens, fruit and veggies from our organic garden and awesome rides in the forest on our horses Kalver and Semu. (In 2019 we are not milking our goats. )

    We are optimistic, driven and welcoming people who enjoy having good conversations but also need some family too. We love doing yoga and meditation to still the mind but also enjoy good parties, singing and dancing. Iisak plays bass in the local village band (Nedsaja Küla Bänd) and Maris sings with other village women in the Seto Leelo choir.

    As our tiny cabin (restored with the help of volunteers) has barely enough space for the 3 of us, accommodation is in a tent (we have some tents you can borrow or bring your own!) or in the hay loft of the stable with the swallows. We also have a Volunteer kitchen and hang-out space converted from our 100-year old barn. Washing is in our greenhouse sauna / shower.

    We have both had extensive wwoofing/helpex experience ourselves here in Estonia, in Canada, Iceland, Ecuador & Australia and are looking for ~5hrs work/day 5days/week in exchange for meals and accommodation.

    As we also need some family time, we always have breakfast separately, lunches together with volunteers and dinners will depend on the day.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live in a very unique area of Estonia called Setomaa where the ancient Seto culture is still very much alive. The Seto people have lived between two worlds, the East and the West, for centuries and have developed a unique and inspiring culture. The most remarquable part of it is definitely the "Seto Leelo" - the ancient polyphonic singing tradition. There are lots of traditional Seto village parties which you might be able to attend during your stay, also 3 museums and numerous cafeterias to try out local cuisine.
    Check out the short tourist video called "Tere tulemast Setomaale ja Seto Külävüüle!" in Youtube to learn more about the culture - at the beginning you can also see our horse Semu and our village!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    In the summerof 2019 (starting from May), we are looking for 2 people at a time to:

    *️️️️help with ANIMALS
    - daily animal chores such as feeding chickens, cleaning pens and poop, walking horses etc
    - build and fix fencing for our ever-expanding pasture land

    *️️️️help with the GARDEN and FOOD
    - tend (planting, weeding, harvesting) to our organic vegetable garden
    - gather wild foods (berries, mushrooms, herbs for tea and medicine)
    - help with yard work (mowing, trimming etc.)
    - help with brush cutting, chopping firewood, and so on

    *️️️️help with COOKING, CLEANING and BABYSITTING our awesome son Jaako (who understands English!)

    NB! We are also looking for an additional person with previous building experience to
    *️️️️ help build our new hand-made log house (floors, ceilings and other carpentry work)
    *️️️️ undertake other necessary building projects, such as
    - build a new wood shed
    - rework the chicken coop and the stable etc

    But most of all, we are looking for people who enjoy themselves and their time here!

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Estonian: Fluido
    French: Principiante
    Russian: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    As our tiny cabin has barely enough space for the 3 of us, accommodation is in a tent or in the hay loft of the stable with the swallows.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    During your free time, we have bicycles for exploring the forests (including the Mustoja protected area just 2km away), visiting lakes, caves and other swimming holes, and instruments for playing (guitar, djembe, ukulele, kannel (the Estonian national instrument), kalimba, clarinet and more). We are also rather social so you can expect to meet some of our friends while you are here too.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    roughly 5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Our barn (summer kitchen/hang out room and the milk production room inside)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)














Número de referencia de anfitrión: 168156476844