Come help and learn with us, on our off-grid homestead in the West Kootenays of British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canadá

39 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    08/03/2022

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a couple living on a small homestead, in SE British Columbia; we have been here since 1976. We own 5.3 ha. (13 acres), most of which is forested; our homestead encompasses, a fenced, approximately 0.8 ha. (2 acres).

    We have a large garden where we grow our vegetables, dry beans, soybeans, sunflowers, grains, and an orchard with many kinds of berries, and 50, or so fruit and nut trees. We also have five laying hens for eggs. In this way, we try to grow as much of our own food as possible; we grow all of our fruit, vegetables, nuts, and most of our grains for the year. We also save a good deal of our own vegetable seeds.
    All of our power is produced using a unique micro-hydro system, using water from Little Cayuse Creek. We use wood heat.. We heat water using wood in the winter and a solar hot water heater in the warmer months.

    We are pragmatists and base our practices using science as our guide. We choose to live a conserver lifestyle. We do lots of things “by hand”, using simple tools, such as shovels, rakes and axes. However, we do have a electric chainsaw for cutting firewood, and various electric “gadgets”, such as a small, handmade threshing machine and nut cracker. We also have cooking appliances that run on our power system.

    Frank likes inventing, tinkering, and fixing things. He has invented and built various tools and devices to help us on our homestead.

    Libby has a special interest in native wild plants, and is familiar with the edible ones in our area. She has taught many wild edible plant classes, through a local college.

    We both have extensive knowledge of small scale garden and orchard growing, and homesteading. Since 2008 (on hold for the last three years because of COVID), we have been teaching a garden and orchard course tailored for our area.
    Spring is a very busy time for us. Starting in early spring, we prune the fruit trees and vines. In March, we start our early garden crops in pots. In April, we are in full on planting and transplanting mode. The garden beds will need to be dug and raked in preparation for planting. May is another busy planting month, for us. As the season progresses, there will be crops from the garden and orchard to harvest and process.
    On a mostly self-sustaining homestead, there are always a multitude of tasks and projects that could be worked on. A lot of the time, this is where we need the extra help.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Good conversation is always welcome at our house; we like to engage people in wide ranging topics. We also like to learn about other people's lives and experiences.

    Learning opportunities abound on our homestead, including: many aspects of gardening, fruit and nut growing, grain growing and processing, freezing, canning, drying and storage of garden and orchard produce, cooking from scratch, with existing supplies, creating and maintaining a micro hydro system, building and other aspects of creating and maintaining a homestead.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are specifically looking for someone who has a particular interest in simple mechanical and/or electrical systems, and enjoys working on these type of projects, as well as some building projects. Examples of this could include improving our micro hydro system, working on ways to improve our water intake system, and many other projects. An ideal worker would be a good ideas person; one whom ideas could be brainstormed with to come up with creative solutions to specific problems. Of course, there are a lot of gardening and orcharding chores that need doing, and these would provide many learning opportunities for the right person. Both of us tend to be perfectionists, and therefore like to think thing through and do a good job on whatever we do, so having similar traits would be preferred.

    We are looking for someone who is self-motivated and interested in working with us on various projects, and in our garden and orchard. These include, but are not limited to: digging and planting the garden; harvesting and processing produce; cooking, from scratch; getting firewood; fence repair; making improvements to our water and micro hydro systems; building; innovating; experimenting; etc.

    As we have been doing this work for a long time, we can offer the teaching of various skills involved with running a homestead.

    We are flexible with working hours, a baseline being, 4-5 hours/day, 5 days a week. We have a trial period of one week. if both parties are satisfied, we would like a minimum stay of two weeks, but are open to someone staying the entire growing season.

    It would be highly desirable if this person is handy with using tools and has a mechanical aptitude.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We are offering a room in our earth-sheltered house during the cooler times. During warmer weather, we will have a tent set up on our beautiful homestead.

    We are omnivores, but do not eat much meat, and can accommodate vegetarians. Our meals are mostly prepared from what we grow here, and will be shared with us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    One of our philosophies is trying to live a less consumer based life. Our world revolves around our homestead as we try to live more "sustainably". We feel this would be a great opportunity for someone who thinks they would like to learn this kind of lifestyle.

    We have hosted many volunteers, in the past, including college students, and a few interns.

    We are fairly isolated, with no really close neighbors; the nearest town, Castlegar, is about 32 km (20 mi.) away. Several km away, there is the small community of Deer Park. It is mostly made up of “summer home” people, but there are some permanent residents, and we have friends there. There are no services, such as stores or gas stations in Deer Park, so having a car would give a workaway person more freedom.

    We are within walking distance to Lower Arrow Lake, which is good for swimming in the summer. There is also easy hiking around our place, because it is an open type of forest, for the most part. The West Kootenay area is home to spectacular hiking trails, but a vehicle would be necessary to access these.

    Being in a forested area, we have forest animals, such as white-tailed and mule deer, elk, black bear, bobcats, cougar, smaller mammals, and other wildlife, which may be sighted from time to time.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Although we have a room in our house, having your own living space is ideal for us and for you. We do have a tent, which could be an option.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    A dog is alright as long as it is not aggressive. We do not have a pet at the present time.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 767391369715