Help our family in Zamora with childcare and English speaking, Spain



52 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

  • Descripción


    We are a family of four, livIng in Zamora, Spain.

    Txema, the father of the family is an engineer and works in website development for different companies. I work at the family business: a quaint restaurant next to the main square of the city, specialized in typical Spanish food.

    The area where we live is always busy and the restaurant is very lively. It is very easy to meet people and practice Spanish, while enjoying the amazing food that Antonio, our cook, makes!

    We have two daughters: Noa, who is 6 years old and Ada, who is 4. Noa is the older responsible sister, while Ada brings the spark to our lives!

    We enjoy spending time as a family. During weekends we take the girls to the park, the cinema and the pool. Some weekends, we travel to nearby cities or to the country side. We are happy to include one fifth member to our family.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We would like the girls to start picking up some English. We are hoping to find someone who wants to experience life with a Spanish family and is willing to speak English both to the girls and to us.

    The girls go to school from 8.30 am to 2:00 pm. In the evening they are usually busy with extra curricular activities such as music and sports. We expect the volunteer to spend time with the girls in the evening, after they come home from their activities, whether it is speaking, watching TV or playing. The only condition is that only English must be spoken during that time!

    The number of hours we expect the volunteer to spend with the girls depends on the day, because they have different schedules every day of the week. However, it won't be more than 3-4 hours a day, always in the evening. That means, the volunteer will be free during the mornings and afternoons.

    On Saturday mornings we both work, so we expect the volunteer to stay with the girls. The rest of the weekend, the volunteer can choose to join our family plans or make her or his own!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    The volunteer will have an own room in the family house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As the local saying goes: "Zamora no se ganó en una hora" (Zamora was not conquered in an hour) so forget your car and take a stroll around Zamora. Shopping areas are mainly centred on Tres Cruces Avenue, Santa Clara Street and parallel-running San Torcuato. If you prefer Malls, the biggest one is the Centro Comercial Valderaduey, named after one the local rivers or as it is known by locals, Eroski. The other one is called 'Vía de la Plata'.

    Typical souvenirs include items featuring elements from Semana Santa or Easter. Local wines and cheese, as well as chickpeas from Fuentesaúco always make a good buy. If you're more into the vintage-style buying, check out the weekly mercadillo, a street market held every Tuesday morning. The traditional site was just outside the Train Station, now moved to the parking lot of the Football Stadium Vía de la Plata (either a good 30 minute walk from downtown Zamora or one of the only occasions where local transport would be worth it).

    If you happen to visit Zamora at the end of June, pottery would make an excellent souvenir too, as Viriathus Square is filled with stands from all over the country selling their creations. You can find items both for everyday use and for display. The 'big day' of the San Pedro festivity is June 29th. You can buy some of these products and other souvenirs, cheese or wine at the store Aperos y Viandas (literally "Farming implements and Food") which is on the way to the Cathedral or at some the shops in and around Ramos Carrión Square. These cater especially for tourists, but you can find many local products -especially wine-at any supermarket (Mercadona, El Arbol, Eroski, etc).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3-4 hours a day

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 743637238227