Help us with building and fixing some fences and gardening in Rural Manawatu near Feilding, New Zealand



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción



    an older couple, big world travelers and now settled in Rural Manawatu near the Town of Feilding.
    We have 5hectares of organic pasture on which we raise cattle, chickens and large vegetable garden.

    Lis is a work-from-home tech support for a large company that specialises in waste recovery, disposal and recycling
    Tim is a retired former Chef and high-functioning tetra and cyclist.

    Whilst we enjoy meeting new people and are happy to welcome positive and engaging people to share some time with us, please, bear in mind its some time, not a long time. We find a week is often enough here, but we can discuss longer or shorter.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our home is a Kiwi lass and a global lad, we eat only good home cooking and have traveled extensively in Canada, parts of the US, and Europe especially France. And lived for many years in the UK.
    We aren't what you might call "exciting" people as we tend to spend our lives now at home, but when you have the space around you that we do why would you?

    The Pandemic taught us the importance of family, community, and people. We are fully vaccinated and both have avoided any Covid infections. And we ask anyone who comes to our home is also fully vaccinated. We have people in our bubble who are elderly and compromised.

  • Ayuda


    Tim: I'm a high-function tetraplegic, I can walk but mostly cycle. I need some assistance doing some fencing, I have the tools and skills to do most but lack the strength and endurance to complete many of the tasks that have got away from me. Mostly it will be just being there to help with the lifting parts of the work and using the hole borer to dig fence post holes.
    If you're a cyclist we could also go for a ride, I have a spare bike.

    Lis likes her gardens, and we have a section that's become overgrown and the help of a fit younger person would be welcome. Lis has also been learning French

    We have a huge house, with a spare double bedroom and the bonus of an in-house former 5-star chef who does all the cooking and welcomes being shown new regional dishes from your home country. But please we aren't a cooking school ;-)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Lis loves keeping her mind ticking over so language is something she has been doing.

  • Alojamiento


    We have a spare room in the house with a double bed and shared bathroom.
    Breakfast is a help-yourself affair, we generally just eat cereal and fruit, Lis is a tea drinker, and there are usually a dozen varieties of herbal teas, we also have fresh free-range eggs and home-baked bread. Tim is a coffee drinker so there's an espresso machine on the kitchen bench. The same goes for lunch but I generally make something for Lis. Dinner every night is varied and no one day is the same as the next, We are as happy to eat vegetarian as not.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The house is set up with WiFi, next door is a motor racing track, it's about 10 minute walk away. There's a walking trail along the creek down to the last remaining Kauri Hardwood swamp which has boardwalks. The small local township, Feilding, is about 1.5km to the center of town with a Friday Farmers market and the largest livestock sale yards in the southern hemisphere on Mondays and Fridays, Palmerston North is 20km away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    we have unlimited internet, its working on the 4G mobile band

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Huge well drained back lawn behind the house and very private or if self-contained they could park anywhere on the property

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 3-5days a week but flexible as my ability to work is dictated by my disability. Some days we might do a full day the next I might struggle to walk.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 743529417211

Comentarios (1)



Help with spring planting or autumun projects at my permaculture food forest and flowers in Northland, New Zealand
Gardening help for a Kiwi family in North Canterbury, New Zealand