Friendly farm family invites you to help with animals and property maintenance on Orcas Island, USA


Estados Unidos


193 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Good Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

  • Descripción


    Looking for help in Spring, Summer and Fall of 2021

    We are a family of 5 on a small farm on Orcas Island. Orcas Island is a beautiful island in Northwest Washington a ferry ride away from the mainland. A shuttle bus can easily taken from Seatac airport in Seattle to the ferry terminal in Anacortes.

    We are Mom, Dad and 3 teenagers, a little white dog and many animals. Our farm is located about 3 miles from the main town on the island. We love cultural exchanges and have hosted exchange students the last 3 years. We look forward to meeting you and introducing you to our beautiful home and island. We are property caretakers, as well as writer, licensed massage practitioner and 4H volunteer leaders. Our kids participate in the 4H program and that's why we have the animals, although the kids take care of their animals there is a lot of other projects to keep up on a farm and a house -that's where you come in-

    We are working toward a permaculture design, and we'd love to have your help!

    We are all non smokers, and this is a non smoking farm.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have hosted exchange students from other countries and very much enjoy the cultural exchange. We can help you with your English and introduce you to our island. Working on the farm offers many opportunities, depending what projects we're working on, there's plumbing, learning how to cultivate food, learning about goats, sheep, horses, chickens, turkeys, geese, ducks, rabbits and guinea pigs. Some exposure to permaculture concepts. We will share any knowledge we have with you as the topics come up through work or conversation.

  • Ayuda


    We need your help with various projects from general maintenance of fields and fences, to painting, and improving infrastructure like fencing and gates, and building maintenance. We may ask you to care for the animals if we need to go away for a few days. We need help cleaning up a forested area and maintaining walking paths. implementing a permaculture design plan in phases, will add many more projects to this list and give you exposure to permaculture concepts. We need help in the vegetable garden weeding and harvest. We need help with cutting and stacking firewood, mowing lawns, prepping for the winter, and whatever else comes up.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    Chinese (Mandarin): Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    We have a small vintage Aloha travel trailer for you to stay in, providing you with something of your own small house. We generally eat our dinners together as a family and invite you to join us for this meal *With COVID this may change to us providing you your dinner in your trailer, or we may all eat outside when weather allows.* Your other meals are up to you to make in your quarters. You have the shared outdoor shower and composting toilet. (The trailer offers electricity, an ice box refrigerator, a cook stove, double bed and dining area.

    We also have a basic 10x10 cabin (Twin bed) in the garden with a basic outdoor kitchen with cooler and camp stove, composting bucket toilet and shared outdoor shower.

    There will be the food we grow in the garden to share, seasonally.
    We have a bicycle to lend you so you can explore the islands.
    We're happy to host couples, and families, although the more guests would require tenting.

    *Note that in the summer and Fall months (until rains return), we're all on shower limits, since we're on a small shared well we limit showers to 3 minutes.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    During your time off you can enjoy the beauty of the San Juan Islands, visiting the other islands, biking (we can provide you with a bicycle), Our farm is right next to the golf course, we highly recommend swimming in the beautiful lakes (or windsurfing on one of our old set ups) surrounded by evergreen forests, there are many beautiful hikes to take all over the island, and some beaches to relax on, you could volunteer in other non profit organizations on island, and possibly even find a paying job for your time off (we'll leave the legalities up to you to figure out:), We have a small sailboat and enjoy sailing we may offer to take you sailing. There are kayak rentals and whale watching options, and Victoria B.C. is just a ferry ride away!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 4 days a week

your own private living space
one of the barn cats in the barn
The ferry dock on Orcas Island
An Orca whale Sometimes you see these from the ferry or you can join whale watching tours to spot them.
view of our islands from the top of Mt. Constitution, the top of Orcas Island and in the State park

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 741625415187