Enjoy sharing a piece of our forgotten world , New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

231 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    18  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/08/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    867

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Kia ora!
    Nau mai, haere mai ki Paritu

    We are Jamie and Anna, Kahu the dog and 13 chickens.

    We love sharing ideas, tastes of the world, culture, laughs, music, wholesome kai (food), cups of coffee and doing meaningful projects with 'Workawayers' of the world. We love curiosity and love of life - it is refreshing and inspiring. We are passionate about learning and teaching - it gives us energy. To us workaway is all about reciprocity: give and receive.

    Discover our paradise
    Home is remote and off-grid (limited power) at the tip of the Coromandel Peninsula surrounded by forest and ocean. Our goal is to be 100% self sufficient. We set up everything ourselves: solar system, water comes from a spring, we have gardens where we use the principles of traditional knowledge and learning to create permaculture systems. We swim in sea and gather seafood. There is a large natural forest behind our house which is our Medicine cabinet and place of peace. Rongoa Maori is our medicine system, food, and understanding the spiritual element within them. Taonga puoro (Maori musical instruments) is another aspect of interest in using sounds of nature to heal the deeper levels of the spirit.

    Jamie has a Youtube channel and facebook page (off grid native)

    At the moment we are looking for people who can self mannage as we are away in the week.


    Exchange opportunities - what help is available?
    We feel like we live the dream, we are wanting to start a business to create options into the future. We have been reading business books and we want to learn how to work and invest smart.
    Examples of projects underway:
    - Hands-on projects: building a chicken house, firewood, digging, gardening , creating permaculture systems such as a food forest.

    Come and Stay!
    We normally host 4 workaways per year and like to arrange people coming 'last-minute' (1-2 weeks in advance) as we travel away frequently. We are often looking for people to stay for 5-days up to a week. But can be adaptable for shorter or longer stays.
    Its important that you have a great experience, so please only apply if you are interested in the skills we have to share. Our lifestyle is outdoors so you will need to be physically fit/ strong. We also believe in a two-way exchange -in our experience is the harder workaways work the harder we work for them & genuine and respectful relationships form. The reciprocity of giving.


    We look forward to sharing our world with you & learning about yours!

    Happy travels!

    Jamie and Anna

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can learn about māori history, art forms and culture, meet people in our community, experience living closer to the land, discover stunning beaches, learn about our forest and Maori medicines and the spiritual connections, and edible wild/traditional foods. Explore the remote part of the Coromandel and get shown the secrets only locals know.

    We sometimes hunt, dive, fish and gather plant based wild traditional food. For the experience of helpers

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Home Creation

    The help is mostly very physical, we have had amazing workaways that have worked very hard. Life with no power most things are manual.

    - Art project ( I have a picture of an ancestor he would like painted)
    - Firewood - harvesting, clearing and stacking and moving.
    - Painting
    - Building
    - Digging (drains)

    Gardening
    - Teaching - Would love to learn about food forests, compost systems, permaculture design and planning, succession planning, soil science and making soil good for plants, companion planting, pruning, and more!
    - Gardening creation - clearing new spaces for gardening
    - General Maintenance (removal of weeds)

    Help in the whare (house)
    -Cooking (making meals, we love tasting food from different parts of the world) And would love to learn more about
    vegeterian and vegan cooking.
    -Cleaning (sweeping, washing windows, general cleaning)
    -Painting outside and in.

    Art
    Painting we have a portrait we would like painted. We love creativity so if you know how to make a lampshade you make, draw a cool design on a wall, Chainsaw sculpture or something else.... thats cool too.

    Community projects
    - Help with Eco project such as the Colville Harbour Care restoration project (potting up plants in the native tree nursery, planting trees).

    Business
    -We want to learn about dynamic business, investing,Website design, stocks, marketing, generating passive income.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We live 30mins north of Colville on the beautiful west coastline. The home is off-grid with solar power, outside compost toilet (long-drop), water heated via a gas water heater, and no internet access. There is mobile reception on the hill.
    Please note: your accommodation will be a private caravan, this does not have any access to power. Power is available at the house 50m away.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Things you can do in your time off: If you after peace and tranquility then there is a lot to offer in this setting, beautiful landscapes, Forest and ocean at your doorstep.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week













Número de referencia de anfitrión: 734766845125