Come to our family homestead and explore Hale Kokua, Hawaii, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

45 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    60.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Aloha.
    Micro farm/food forest focusing on fruit...avocado, mango longan lichee banana loquat, and many more. Single family home with adjacent ag land., a private Homestead still in the outgrowing stages of the farm (fruit trees take up to 7 years to bear and sometimes more) so the fruit that we do have we consume and give away and as it comes in we will donate more of it especially during these times. Happy to provide meal makings and accommodation as described. Help involves assistance with organizing, path building, pruning/planting/maintainance and perhaps starting annual garden with produce...trialling a vertical garden and also a greenhouse. of this micro farm, and other projects as they come up. I have recently fallen off a few roofs and need an assist keeping up.
    Currently fostering a cat, may end up having another or potentially a dog when this one goes back to it's mom...
    I've worked extensively all over the developing world setting up shrimp farms, was a former president of Hawaii tropical fruit growers, Kauai chapter, so have a lot to share regarding small scale farming in the tropics..
    Also, happy to share knowledge of kauai from my years of staying here since my first job at shrimp farm here in Kilauea.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    learn real life possibilities for self sufficiency on small acreage in tropics, and also become aquainted with the beauty of Kauai from someone who lives here and has intimate knowledge of the many hikes, beaches, and sights that are off the beaten track. Additionally, have facility in french and spanish, have traveled widely, and glad to share the unique hawaiian spirit that this land engenders.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Fallen off a few roofs over the last couple of years and would love help keeping up with duties maintaining/upkeep of food forest/micro farm and property. Whacking back jungle, planting, weeding, organizing, making paths, upkeep of drip irrigation etc

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Intermedio
    French: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Full size bed in mini suite with sink, fridge, desk. bathroom down hall in house. share kitchen/indoor space after quarantine. Happy to provide meals and accommodation as described.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As you probably know, people come the world over to Kauai for it's natural beauty. The garden isle has plenty to see...beach and town 10 min bike ride. hooipi falls 10 mins mauka. drive to scenic hanalei bay, or epic waimea canyon

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    250 mbps internet connection

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 733145444116