Tree planting, gardening, building and animal care on our small farm in South Alentejo! Portugal

Country

Portugal

118 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We have a small farm (1 ha), and live with our 3 dogs, 2 sheep and 20 chickens in the beautiful South Alentejo countryside.
    After many years of travelling we bought this neglected heath land with nothing on it.
    That was 10 years ago, only one olive tree was there and now it is becoming an oasis, a park, a farm.
    We have dug a small lake which has now wild live in it (can be used as natural swimming pool, shared with frogs, fish, snakes, turtles and maybe the dogs) .
    In those years we did an awful lot of work, like planted a lot of fruit trees and ornamental trees, a lot of them grown from seeds, and set up vegetable gardens, we also build a lot things, like an artist studio, a shed and some chicken houses.
    We live a very simple life style off grid in a small house on a small solar panel and have our own bore hole.
    Our passion is to create a self providing paradise! This is our piece of art.

    But we are getting older and we could do with some extra pair of hands, specially mowing, the grass grows harder then we can keep up mowing and there is a lot of work in the vegetable gardens and fruit tree care. We have a caravan available for you! But you can also come in your own van or tent.
    There is no electricity and the solar system is very basic, so it is only for charging the phone or laptop at day time.
    We are not connected to the water-net either, so all water has to be pumped up from our borehole with a generator. So we ask you to be sparse with water and only have short showers.

    - SERIOUS INQUIRIES ONLY!!! We need someone who likes work and is able to do so. At the moment we have only space for one or two workers, unless you bring your own camper-van.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can learn here a lot of things, like natural gardening and tree care, composting, mowing and raking. Also animal care and dog training, taking care of chickens, dogs and sheep, carpentering and construction, fencing and maintenance and much more.
    The compost toilet on its own is for many modern city people an experience: We call it: the bucket experience!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Garden Work: Mowing, Gardening, Weeding, watering, seeding, planting, harvesting or making vegetable beds. Mowing and raking, and composting, Taking care of fruit trees, - Planting trees avocados, apple, peach, figs, casuarinas, palms, strawberry trees, locust trees.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Building: making retaining walls for the beds and gardens and trees. Painting, fencing, General Maintenance etc or building a jump in platform for the lake!
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Animal care: Walking the dogs and feeding the chickens if necessary
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ General jobs like Cleaning and tidying up. Or .picking up stones to smoothen the land for the mowing machine.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Basic things like beautifying the place ..

    We always need help for the farm, the animals, specially the gardens and the trees. Also some construction work for retaining walls for garden beds and trees.
    We are also building a stone chicken house.
    We are only looking for people who are not flaky, especially if we take the time to show you the ropes.
    We like to invite people who enjoy to work. We also work a lot and did already a lot of work.
    We do have internet, but it does not reach to the caravan, so best is you arrange your own internet, but an email or so can be checked now and then.

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Dutch: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is a small caravan with a small double bed for you. It can be for one person or a couple!
    Since we really appreciate our privacy we will provide a kitchen for you. There is a cosy octagon next to the caravan that is like summer camp kitchen were you can cook.
    We will provide food, but you need to buy your own drinks, we do not provide alcohol.
    Sometimes we may cook for the volunteers, but then we expect to do some extra work, while we cook and do the dishes.
    In the days off we expect the volunteer to do their own cooking and cleaning or do some extra work instead.
    We are also welcoming people who come with their own camper van.
    Internet does not reach the caravan, so best is you arrange your own internet, but an email or so can be checked now and then at the house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The village is only 500 m away with a bus stop and different shops and bars, the bigger towns are 25 km away from us in three directions. The dirt road from us to the main road is only 300 m. The railway station is 15 km away.
    The Beach (Atlantic Ocean) is 30 km from here.
    The area around here is full with alternative communities eg We are very close to the Tamera community and Mooji´s Ashram.

    VEGETARIAN AND NON SMOKERS ONLY!
    We are vegetarians and non smokers, we don't want smoking on the land, nor in the caravan, also for fire danger. So our whole property is no smoking area.
    We are willing to share our land, but, please, be respectful to our animals, us, our tools and everything else.
    And we like to share to take on the challenge of living of the land in harmony with nature and our animals.

    Best bring or use natural soap / shampoo, since the water of the shower goes into the garden and the chickens drink it and we eat their eggs, so we like it to be as clean as possible.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    ± 5 hours a day, 5 days a week or more

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 731219829574