Join us in building our community event space in beautiful British Columbia, Canada!

Country

Canadá

33 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    56.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a non-profit organization, located in the Fraser Valley of British Columbia, Canada. We have been serving the African Canadian and Canadian communities with cultural events, community outreach, music, food and educational events for many years now. We recently purchased land in the Fraser Valley which we are working on transforming into our home base, farm and retreat/events centre. We also have a very large and very fun Afrobeat band, which our organization founder is the leader of! We currently are raising goats on our property and did a small experiment with some African and local crops this 2020 season. We also have a yoga and meditation guide as part of our family! We have been working hard to prepare our land and there is still much to do to be ready to officially open for events and retreats. It is our dream to open our Africa Village by Spring/Summer 2021.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    A major part of our organization is cultural exchange and education about African culture, food, music. Our founder and band leader is originally from Nigeria and he is passionate about sharing his beautiful and rich culture with others. We are also surrounded by incredible natural beauty and there are tons of outdoor adventures to be enjoyed! Do you play an instrument? Come jam with our band, learn about Afrobeat Music and it's founder, Fela!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There are many projects to be done.
    Clearing, trimming and beautifying of the land.
    Building a greenhouse.
    Building stages for events.
    Building a proper outdoor toilets/shower facility.
    Setting up our bell tents with platforms.
    Setting up planters for private and guest use.
    Creating our fire pit/gathering space.
    Creating and beautifying our water feature/pond areas.
    Finishing our basement.
    And much more!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido
    Yoruba: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have several bell tents provided for accommodation, depending on how many people are volunteering, it may be shared. We will provide a mattress and bedding for you. We also have a room in our basement for shared accommodation, we will provide bedding. We have a portable toilet outside (we need help creating our composting toilets and outdoor shower facilities). We have a guest bathroom in the house. Meals will be prepared together sometimes, other times, you will be responsible to prepare your own meals. We will provide the groceries. We would be happy to share African delicacies with you! Cleaning up after meals and the shared spaces will be a shared job as well. We don't have cellular service in our immediate area but we do have wifi in and near the house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is much to explore and enjoy outdoors in our neighbourhood. Public transportation is very limited as we are out in nature. We would be happy to help by driving you to catch public transport.
    We like to work hard and also have time to relax and enjoy life. We have dogs and spend a lot of our time caring for our goats and dogs. We also run our organization from home, so we do computer work at home. Privacy is important to us and clear communication and boundaries is necessary when sharing spaces with others. We love to feed people and spend time with our community!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    If you are traveling by camper van, we can provide some space to park it. During the winter months, our fields are too wet to drive on but in the Summer season it can be parked in a field. Otherwise it would need to be parked near the front of our home. A smaller size van/motorhome is preferred as parking space can be limited. we have a lot of vehicles.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 725613282484