Learn basic construction in beautiful southern Utah, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

360 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/04/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    77

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 32 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I'm looking for a single person or couple to help me in beautiful Boulder Utah. I am located inside the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument between bryce canyon and capitol reef national parks. This Spring, I'll be doing various smaller projects but would like help from someone that is versed in video shooting and editing to help me document the work I've done the past 20 years creating this offgrid homestead. It is a very photogenic area and the homestead incorporates many creative elements that I think would look cool on film.
    I'm also planning on removing dead brush to mitigate against future fires. Well also be pulling weeds...not super exciting but you will be living in a beautiful spot and learning about off grid living.
    My original inspiration came from a visit in the early 1990s to Dick Prenneke, a homesteader I spent time with in Lake Clark Alaska. I had access to many things he didn't, being close to a dump that provided alot of useful and interesting items used in the construction. I also was able to take apart and salvage locally found old buildings. My interest in the film project is for my own posterity as well as possibly posting on the internet to inspire others as I was inspired.
    You'll be staying in the 'tiki shak', a three-sided and covered shelter that has running water (including hot shower), bed, stove and music powered by a small solar system.
    You will gain knowledge on homesteading and off-grid living in beautiful surroundings. Also check out my partner, emme monique's workaway page for teton valley idaho if you may be interested in opportunities this summer in the Tetons.
    The ideal person(s) is not afraid to learn new things, physically fit , does not thrive on drama, speaks reasonable English, and has a sense of humor and adventure. There's amazing hiking and exploring right from the property. I have lived off-grid on this 26 acres for 20 years and have learned many skills that I like to share. The community of boulder is small (200 people), remote (90 miles to closest stoplight) but vibrant and full of colorful, talented characters.
    Please check out our previous workawayers comments to get a better idea of what to expect.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The community of boulder is very cool and progressive. There are many international travellers that pass through as we are in the heart of utahs canyon country and national parks

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    See description above. Also,Depending on the season, we will need help in the garden and pulling cheatgrass, our local weed.
    The ideal workawayers needn't have experience, just a willingness to learn new skills. They are strong and healthy with a good attitude. They are interested in learning about the off-grid lifestyle and ideally aspire to live a simpler life.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The private tiki shak described above.
    Much of the food we eat is from local sources, depending on season. All meals provided. I have great drinking water from a solar-powered well.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Endless hiking/biking in the national monument and national parks.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have a flat spot to park with access to water nearby but no power. There is a dump station located in nearby boulder

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Possible....we have a cat and gentle dog so pet would have to be compatible with our critters. Also, no barking

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 716228534778