actualizado  

Let's VanLife together and develop sustainable projects across Europe

  • 122 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 16 jun 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    ***Urgently looking for someone to help me finish a few van DIY projects and start this year's roadtrip!***

    A combination of Van Life, travel, and eco-projects - seize a chance to live on the road, and do good, while experiencing local cultures and places!

    Hi fellow travelers! I'm currently looking for one of two profiles:

    -Either, someone who has a fantastic idea or skillset on how to develop a sustainable project using the van as a base; in which case the standard workaway model applies (food and a place to stay are provided);

    -Or, a travel buddy who wants to test out van life, explore the open road, and visit some cool places, in which case I'm happy to provide a place to stay and come up with an itinerary together, but would like to share costs for fuel/food, as I wouldn't be asking for any work in return.

    About the project & me:

    My name is Kieran, I'm 35, half Dutch and half Swiss, and I've spent the last 2 years living and working on my sailboat, Joya, while traveling the Mediterranean Sea. Since I was a kid, I've always been passionate about authentic, ecological living, nature, protecting the planet, and giving back wherever I can. Over the past few years, I've been privileged to work on developing a recycling initiative, crowdfunding for a Zero-Waste cooking school, and a number of other amazing projects.

    While life on the sea has been wonderful, it's quite a challenge, and I'm ready for a new project - so let me introduce Bernard (a.k.a. Big Blue)! He's in my photos, you can't miss him :-)

    Bernard is a Swiss-built truck, and has been my home since March 2023, allowing me to continue distance working and traveling, enjoying and experiencing natural and cultural beauty around me. His unique design features a comfortable living space, solar power, hot water, WiFi, and 2 beds, but...also a massive rear garage (with space for a motorcycle, bicycles, and even a small boat), and that got me thinking...

    Bernard's space and size lend themselves to creating something special, to developing ecological and social projects with Bernard as a base of operations, mobile, and ready to make a difference. A place to live and work, and travel too.

    I'll be traveling primarily through France, Belgium, The Netherlands, Germany, and Spain in 2024 - the open road calls and there are no fixed plans in terms of where to be.

    Let me know if you've got a creative spirit, DIY-skills (there's always a bit of upgrading and maintenance on the truck), a passion for sustainability and nature, and are looking for something special and unique to leave a positive mark on the world!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    As we'd be working and travelling at the same time, the cultural dimension is very dynamic, and open. We can visit different places, and experience the best that any region or country has to offer.

    I speak English, French, and some German, for those who want any practice. I am also very experienced in company structuring, entrepreneurship, and branding/marketing, for anyone who may want to pick my brain on those topics. I regularly work with major multinationals and supranational organisations in economic development, marketing, and branding.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    For travel buddies - no particular skills are required, just a desire to explore and go with the flow :-).

    For Workawayers, I'd love to have someone with a passion for ecology, sustainability, and people, some design skills, experience or interest in DIY and building projects, and general maintenance couldn't hurt either (some but not all of the above is fine!)

    I've rebuilt and renovated houses, and a few boats, so I'm capable for the DIY and maintenance part, all I need is a bit of help. Of course for the next phase, I'm looking for brilliant ideas we can then use the truck to develop and implement, along the lines of ecology, waste reduction, or social good, and that's where your passions, skills, and interests, combined with Bernard, could help create something amazing!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am bilingual in English and French, and speak some (rusty) German. I'd be happy to help you practice either of my two languages, and would like some help in improving my German as well.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A workaway on wheels, quite literally! Bernard is a comfy truck, with two double beds (one fixed, and the other a foldaway as part of the sofa), and features a number of comforts like central heating, hot water, a lovely onboard shower, a full kitchen, Wi-Fi, a toilet, 230v electricity (even off-grid) and a solar array. With a large refrigerator, ample food storage, and over 100l (22 gallons) of freshwater capacity, the truck can remain off-grid for extended periods of time. Some extras include a home cinema, microwave, and home appliances like a coffee machine, toaster, InstantPot, Waffle-maker, etc.

    I can only accept one workawayer at a time, as the vehicle has only 2 belted seats. If a workawayer joins with their own vehicle and follows along, then there are 4 sleeping places on board, but for driving, only 2 spots (one for me, and one for someone else).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have been living and working remotely for 2 years now, mostly from a sailboat. In that time, I've learned precisely what I need in terms of systems and equipment to ensure availability - and you will benefit from that too. The truck has a Mi-Fi hotspot, with redundancies, a 2000w inverter providing 230V power off-grid, a solar array of 400w, and a full MFD (printer/scanner) with a duplexer. Spare cell phones and 2 spare computers (one laptop, one integrated desktop) ensure that work can always get done, even if your computer/phone is lost or damaged.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Not really relevant in this case, but- you can always park yours next to mine :-)

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 713813335138

Comentarios (3)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Join an eco-place and learn to live more ecologically and independently located in Provence, France
Gardening, small tasks, child care in a vegetarian / rawfood friendly family in Langlade, South of France