Help build a straw bale house in Marval, France

Country

Francia

30 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    13/01/2020

 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, so a bit of background info first; I am building a straw bale house this year in France, in an area called Marval in the Haute Vienne, Limousin region.

    The area is wooded countryside and the house will be load bearing strawbale construction with a tile roof.The foundations will be build from tyres and the garage will have a green living roof. The garage is in the process of being built, walls should go up this week!!, and the house build will then start in July, expecting to end in September/October.

    The site is opposite a friends house and land, Sasha and Jan, and volunteers will camp on this land with compost toilets and outdoor showers. Home cooking will be provided, by my ever helpful friend Sasha.

    We have the walls up and are now moving on to the roof and rendering etc. Experienced builders needed as the work is now more technical and labour intensive.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    This project is a straw bale house build with lime rendered walls and tyre foundations so anyone interested in this type of building is welcome. There will also be some gardening and some work ona barn conversion so a mix of activities and the location is lovely.

    There is an experienced builder who will be carrying out a barn conversion/improvement on the house opposite and will be happy to share his knowledge, so lots of opportunity to learn a lot of different building techniques.

    We have the walls up and are now moving on to the roof and rendering etc. Experienced builders needed as the work is now more technical and labour intensive.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You’ll be camping just across the road from the build and it is very peaceful (mostly just the sounds of bird song, crickets and frogs all around) and there is a small lake that is lovely for swimming in when it’s hot. There will be outdoor showers and compost toilet. Food will be provided and will be home cooked.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are about 2kms from the nearest village and there is a friendly little bar there. We are also about a 10 minute drive from the nearest town, with a great weekly market, and from a large lake with a beach. We are also in a national park so we’re surrounded by lots of lovely woods and many good walks and we have spare bikes for cycling around.

    Other than that, we have six cats and a dog, so I’m hoping no one is overly allergic to animals. We also regularly light the fire outside (even though the weather is likely to be hot when you come), so please feel free to bring any instruments or your singing voice (the stars from here are lovely and the evenings warm in summer so we sit out a lot). And we have a great life here, little money but lots of laughter and good food and wine, all of which we love sharing with visitors… So all I need is confirmation of your dates for coming and then I can start preparing and looking forward to seeing you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 699954498686