Helping to bring an old house and farm back to its former glory near Modena, Italy

  • Italia
  • 182 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 6 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    We've been working on our own to bring this beautiful property back to its full glory, but could do with a few extra hands.

    We offer accommodation, fresh home cooked food. We are veggie so no meat or fish, but plenty of homemade cheese, butter and yoghurt (happy to teach how to make these if interested), fresh homemade bread (again can show how), and one night weekly takeaway pizza from a brilliant place we have found a few miles away.

    We have two female dogs who are friendly. We have a young Rhodesian Ridgeback who is growing fast and loves playing ball, plus our nutty Dalmatian who loves cuddles.

    Help could also be needed with looking after the cats and dogs we have rescued and who live in pens outside. And of course our brood of chickens that give us fresh eggs every day.

    I also make homemade soaps which I sell at local craft fairs if anyone is interested in seeing how these are made or having a go yourself.

    Non smokers only please and no residency applications. Only genuine willing hands.

    Plans for 2023 include:-
    1. Installing more solar panels, a new inverter, more batteries and a generator so we can come completely off grid.
    2. Putting in a new water tank and running new water connections in the house.
    This is so we can turn things off in the house rather than having to rush to the mains connection which is up the hill.
    3. Building a new chicken coop. The cockerel and his "hareem" need a new area.
    4. Moving the wooden gazebo.
    5. Replacing the patio doors with a window and moving the patio doors to the house's new entrance.
    6. Laying slabs in the cat area so its drier over the winter months for the cats.
    7. There are still more trees that need pruning and another area of land we would like to clear ready for planting.
    8. There is also some decorating needed in the house. painting etc.
    9. Help to build our new kitchen area which I will use for my handicrafts.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Helping to bring an old house and farm back to its former glory.

  • Ayuda


    Hands to clear land, dead trees etc to get it ready for organic farming.
    We urgently need a fully qualified arborist, or arboriculturist (tree surgeon), with climbing experience to cut some of the larger trees.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    We have a two king size room available in the house, or tents can be provided or bring your own if you prefer. There is plenty of hot water for showers etc. Meals will be provided, totally vegetarian or vegan if requested.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Modena is accessible by car, about 45 mins away from where its possible to get trains to Venice, Florence etc.

    As you would only be expected to work 5 out of 7 days per week we have no issue with dropping into Modena and collecting if want to explore on days off.

    There is also a local bus route into Castelorano and Sassuolo where its possible to get the train to Florence and other locations.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a decent internet connection via satellite which I also use for work. Mobile signal here is also pretty reliable.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Plenty of room for parking and we can also run a power cable if needed.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 246244522226

Comentarios (3)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Experience Italian life and language in Piedmont, Italy
Helping hands required around our country property in Ceglie Messapica, south of Italy