Help us with our sled dogs and task around our diary farm in Alta, Finnmark, northern Norway

Country

Noruega

892 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/05/2022

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    *️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️
    We are looking for someone that can stay with us from now on and if possible until the end of Summer to help us take care of our dogs, walk the puppies, maybe help out in the barn and general task around our home.
    *️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️*️

    We are Kristian and Maria, dog mushers living together on a dairy farm located in the idyllic valley of Mathisdalen, circa 18 km from Alta, Finnmark in Northern Norway. The farm is surrounded by beautiful nature and wildlife. We have three kids, our 4 year old son Emil, our 3 year old daughter and Emma who is 12 years old.
    We have several cows, 2 horses and circa 30 adult dogs.
    My parents live close by at the Fjord. They also have some dogs living at their place, sometimes (mainly in Summer) they are looking for workawayers to stay with them too.

    We train our dogs for competitions in Autumn and Winter. In Summer we do a lot of maintenance work around our home and dog yard.
    Our dogs are having their free time in Summer. They will be enjoying their time off, laying around, being free in the yard or going for hikes. The training of them starts in Autumn (August/September), we train them in the valley using a 4-wheeler or cart until there is enough snow to use the sleds.
    We also produce our own milk year round and have several bulls for meat.

    We need help with the dog-care, the cows, the horses and some task around the farm. There is a chance that we will need help in the barn as well, milking the cows and feeding them for example.
    We are looking for Workawayer that can help us walking our puppies, feeding the dogs, as well as cleaning the dog yard and help training the team.
    We do offer pay if you work on the business side on our farm, in the barn, milking cows or driving the tourists.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The work with our animals has to be done in every weather, even if the temperature drops to -30°C or more! In summer we also have a lot of mosquitoes.
    We are deep in the Arctic circle, what means our Winters are cold and long up here. We get a lot of snow and between December and February there is not a lot of light, the sun does not raise in our valley from November until February. It helps if you are naturally a strong and happy person.
    We can loan you some working clothes and cold weather gear for outdoors and we will teach you all the skills you will need to be able to work with the dogs.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    We are looking for people who love animals and are open minded, friendly, like to have fun in what they are doing, flexible, honest, hard working, independent and able to work alone as well as with others.
    Some experience is nice to have, but not necessary. You can NOT be allergic to animals and it would be an advantage if you are eating meat as we are all eating together and meat is a daily dish at ours. Our experience so far is that if you are a vegetarian, our place is not the correct place for you. Making food for the dogs, and for ourself, as sometimes slaughtering of a cow (which could happen), has proven to be too difficult for vegetarians.
    We have a preference for volunteers over 18/21 years of age who have a drivers license, due to the relatively isolated place of the farm.


    Is this something for you?
    - You are minimum 18 years old
    - Have a drivers license
    - You love animals
    - You are hard working, responsible and flexible
    - You are in good physical shape
    - You are independent and able to work alone
    - You do not mind the cold and love to be outside in any weather condition

    Your message to us should include:
    - Background information about yourself
    - Period you want to stay
    - Intentions to come to our farm
    - Language skills
    - Anything else that you think is important for us to know

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can learn a lot about dog mushing at our place, as well as practising your norwegian or finish speaking skills. You can also learn quite a bit about the norwegian way of living and the traditions up here.

    If you like the outdoors, Alta is the right place for you. There are lots of hiking, cross country skiing, fishing or canoeing oppertuneties around.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Some of the daily routines includes: changing water in the dog yard, preparing food, feeding the dogs, scooping poop!

    Other task could be: training dogs, fixing sleds and line-sets, help with preparing equipment and food for dogs and musher for the dog-races, shoveling snow, take care of the dogs and other animals at home while we are on the dog-races, walking and socialization of puppies, cutting wood, fixing fences, sometimes taking care of the kids 🙂

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Finnish: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You get room and board. You will live either in a carawan or small cabin besides the main house. You share the living-room, bathroom and kitchen with us.

    In the winter we like to have volunteers stay long term so that they have chance to learn all the skills needed to work at our farm and with our dogs.
    You are welcome to stay for a longer period, with a minimum of 3 weeks.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The nature around us is a great playground for both humans and animals. There are so many possibilities of outdoor activities and seeing wildlife. You can go for hikes in the mountains, at the fjords or in the valleys. There are many lakes around in which you can fish, swim or do other water sports. In Winter you could go dog sledding (of course :) ), skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, enjoy the Northern Lights dancing in the sky. We have the mid-night sun in Summer, their are lots of places where you can pick berries or other goods. If you like to party, Alta might not be the right choice for you as we don't have many opportunities in town (most of our parties are at friends places). Anyway Alta has a lot to see, for example the museum, the Northern Light church, the Icehotel, The Rock Art of Alta is on UNESCO`s World Heritage-list, there's also the possibility to experience Sami-culture nearby, be a spectator at Europe's longest sled dog race in March the Finnmarksløpet, which starts and finishes in Alta. Alta also has the biggest canyon in northern Europe.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 694113812825