Learn about organic gardening and share our love of the forest in Burnsville, NC, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

35 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, we like to introduce ourselves: We’re Jerry Donoghue, and Aldona Shea, a married couple in their late 50’s and early 60’s doing homesteading on 25 acres in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains 10 minutes from the quaint little town of Burnsville, North Carolina. Besides tending to our homestead, we both work in the healing profession and support people in various ways.

    We are experienced gardeners and have extensive organic no-till garden beds where we grow our food. We generally follow biodynamic principles and have been moving towards veganic gardening principles. We also have a new orchard along with a 20 by 40 greenhouse. We have no farm animals, only our pets: a couple of cute dogs and cats.

    The property consists of about 20 acres of forest with many rare and medicinal plants and flowers. There are many walking trails, and we have been creating more. We are currently in the planning stages of getting a woodland management plan which would support the overall health of the forest and wildlife. We have a nice bold creek that runs along the edge of the property that is meditative to sit by.

    We have separate, private accommodations for a couple to join us this spring and summer to experience an amazing exchange.

    We are NOT a business, just a homestead growing lots of food. We do not sell anything to the public.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We're willing to share our knowledge and experience in organic no-till gardening and what it takes to grow your food and preserve enough to support you in the winter. We freeze, dehydrate, ferment, and cold store food. We can share our love of the forest and how we have been cultivating a living web perspective.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would welcome help with all aspects of gardening: planting, weeding, harvesting, preserving, fermenting. We need help making forest trails, maybe light chainsaw help (if you know how or are willing to learn), and clearing brush. Various farm projects like making hugelculture beds or setting up gutters on the greenhouse for rainwater catchment. General maintenance of gravel roads, clearing invasive species, and weed whacking. We also have some building projects that are not clear yet, but we are always doing something.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a 10 by 16 tiny cabin with a small front porch behind the main house on the edge of the woods. It contains a futon couch that folds out into a full-size bed. There is also a twin bed in a loft. The cabin contains a T.V. with NetFlix, WIFI, a counter with a two-burner hot plate to cook, a coffee maker, a refrigerator, a microwave, a water dispenser with well water, and all the plates and utensils needed.

    The food arrangement is we would like the workawayers to be responsible for there own food preparations and meal times. We will share food from the garden (when available) and fermented foods, and the workawayers will be responsible for purchasing their own additional food (grocery 10 minutes away). This food arrangement is reflected in the reduced hours.

    There is a table and chairs both on the inside and outside of the cabin. There is a private outdoor shower with hot water and a sink to wash dishes. There is also a new composting outhouse.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We’re in a rural setting so having your own transportation is a must. The closest bigger city, Asheville, North Carolina, is 45 minutes away. It is known for its art, craft beer, and music scene. The surrounding area is known for world-class kayaking, mountain biking, mountain climbing, hiking, and fishing. Since we work in the helping profession and deal with people all the time, we like our privacy and will extend the same privacy to those that will join us on the land.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    The internet connection is a 12mbps DSL connection.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day per person, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 681313398315