Help renovate our house and around the garden in Lippetal, Germany

  • 42 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 15 may 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    In 2021 we created a family project and moved a bit further away from the Ruhr region (hometown Wetter (Ruhr)) to the countryside of Lippetal into a huge old house, which used to be a "guesthouse and a restaurant".

    We are: me, my twin sister (1990) and my brother (85) with our partners Yvonne, Melina and Martina. My wife and I have two kids, Milosz (2019) and the little Misha (2021).
    The place ist pretty big and we have renovated a lot to get 3 apartments plus some space for guests. Furthermore we have an old fashioned bowling alley and once a month some groups come by to play, eat and drink there.
    There is soo much work to do that I don't really know wehre to start:
    The garden always invites to cut the grass, collect leaves from the trees, build a greenhouse, renovate the doors of the garages...we also have a vegetable garden now.
    We always need help with cleaning windows, washing clothes, tidy up, order/reorder garage or cellar, painting. - help with running the household
    We love food from other countries so your welcome to cook some meals for hard working people ;)
    Childcare is also welcome
    Painting walls...
    Walking with the dog

    We would love to have some more animals one day (now we got 1 chicken left). Maybe we are going to have some bigger events like weddings or other parties.
    Generally it's our aim to reuse and recycle as much as possible, a bit against "generation consumption" with renewable energy.

    But first of all we need to get hand over all the stuff that isn't working properly. There are no paying guests, and Workawayers are not being asked to prepare rooms or otherwise help with an accommodation business. Guest rooms are free for helpers and I'm sure one of the many jobs suits everybody.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are an open house, so next to the people who live here, there will be friends, parents, grandparents and other family members who are always welcome to visit us. Therefore we can provide many different types of German inhabitants :P Furthermore my aunt lives with her family in France and we try to visit her every year. Thats why we all are able to communicate a tiny bit in French as well. My wife Martina speaks polish fluently and our kids grow up bilingually. We all learned English at school and we are always happy to learn new languages. There are some bits and pieces of Spanish left over and I spent half a year in Portugal. I think we can present quite a portfolio of languages and there will always be a way to communicate and learn from each other.
    We have breakfast around 7:30 am, lunch around 12 and dinner around 6 pm. Due to the kids that's quite regular and everybody is welcome to join our Abendbrot or the other meals. We often cook hot meals for lunch, but sometimes in the evening as well. It all just depends on what the fridge presents ;)

    The outer space is rural and the cows basically stand in our garden. At night it's quiet and pretty dark. The only noises come from the neighbours who own a lot of pigs, but all of our neighbours are at least 200 meters in distance.
    Generally its good to have a drivers licence but it's also possible to give you a drive to the next train station. Buses are pretty rare at least in front of the house :P But we also have a lot of bicycles and Lippetal is famous for the cycling paths and also canoeing tours in the summer season.
    Four of us are in a wakeboarding team and of course everybody is welcome to join and test our hobbies as well. The cable for wakeboarding and waterskiing is at a lake in Beckum, which is 20 minutes by car.
    Other nice free time activities for relaxation can be found in Bad Sassendorf in a kind of spar with sauna and salty swimming pool.

  • Ayuda


    Since there is so much stuff to do, I think there will always be something suitable for everybody. If you contact us just give us some information about you and your preferences regarding the jobs you are good at. It's always good if you are someone who sees the work that have to be done ;)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Polaco: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    As described in our profile we a are colourful mix of people who love to play and learn with and from different languages and people.

  • Alojamiento


    The Gasthof offered guest rooms and as long as we are renovating the main house, we keep the guest rooms for family, friends and workers.
    Everybody can have his/her own room, the bathrooms would be shared, some goes for the big kitchen.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are absolute beginners in hosting helpers, but I have some experiences in being a helper myself through Workaway. I spent three weeks in Scotland and some weeks in South England.
    In my opinion it's good to build some routines. Therefore I would suggest that helping starts from 8:30 until 12:30, 1 hour lunch break and then again 13:30-14:30 of course that's not set into stone. But it should represent a tiny line of orientation. Five hours per day is manageable and coffee-breaks are also welcome ;) We all try to work as much as possible and also put stuff from other persons to its place. Although originally it´s the plan that everybody tries as hard as possible to put everything he or she used back to its place..
    Two days per week are totally for you, which ones can be chosen freely. We think it´s best to spend at least 2 weeks with us to get to know everything.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Right now it's only my brother who works from home 3-5 days per week. My wife is still enjoying her parental time before restarting her job in home office starting in October. The other two of our team still live and work in another town and mostly join our projects at the weekends. The internet connection seems toi be fine at the moment, but we are waiting for the construction guys to install a new high speed cable.. might come end 2022 - we don't know yet.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Almost any size of van can be parked in front of the house. Electricity and water is available as well.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Since we have our own dog it´s not a big deal to have other dogs here as well. Hopefully they like each other but they can also stay in different spaces.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 679238222378

Comentarios (3)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Look after our cat and help with gardening in Weingarten, Baden, Germany
Help me around the house and play with my daughter in a villige close to a lake in Radevormwald, Germany