Come and help with sustainable farming on our land near La Ferte Bernard, France

  • 73 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 13 mar 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    LONG TERM help would be ideal. As would someone with their own transport (we're VERY rurally located)

    If you are young at heart and open-minded then read on....

    We moved to France in 2008 from Scotland with the aim of living more ecologically and are passionate about sustainability. My 3 children and I live on the edge of the Perche National Park in a small hamlet and have an old house with barn and outbuildings together with 7 hectares (17 acres) of land. Our nearest village is 2.5 km (1 mile) away and the nearest town, La Ferte Bernard is 5.5 miles to the south with good facilities. From La Ferte Bernard there are easy, direct rail and road links to Le Mans (30 miles) and Paris (105 miles).

    Accommodation is in our house and food is sharing our daily repas. We are omnivores but I can cater for vegetarians. Currently I feel unable to provide a balanced diet for vegans so sadly we can not accommodate those with a vegan lifestyle. Thanks to two very fussy children, I do the catering so if you are someone who likes to be busy cooking then this probably isn't the place for you. Sometimes help with food prep is needed and a hand washing up is wonderful.

    Two of my lads are still here full-time (aged 17 and 13). Two dogs and four cats 'help' with the farm. Then there are the chickens, the geese, the ducks, the sheep, and the donkeys.

    Whilst I have been growing our own vegetables organically for many years, this is the first time that there has been the space to extend this to animals and field crops so anyone joining us will be participating in a steep but enjoyable learning curve!

    Alongside organic growing we are also implementing permaculture principles and trying to reduce mechanisation wherever possible - we have used a scythe to harvest our hay. We are trying to get back to traditional skills, thereby protecting those skills and hopefully reducing our carbon footprint at the same time.

    I have been a volunteer host for more than 10 years with various organisations.

    It's good to have helpers all year round and long-term helpers are especially welcome. So long as you come with an open spirit and a smile, you will be welcomed with open arms.

    Non-smokers only.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    It's a bit mad and hectic at times as I am now on my own with my lads and that is part of the reason that I need some help. I guess I'm just looking to have a friend here, someone who would help with keeping the weeds back so that we actually get some veggies, someone who would like to chuck a bucket of food to the 4-leggeds in the evening whilst I'm making the evening meal, help harvest and eat/process the fruit and nuts, chop/collect some wood in the winter, someone who would pass me a hanky when life gets a bit tough and just generally be around. I couldn't really say how many "hours a day" this entails, it's just living with us. I hope that I am being honest when I say that it wouldn't be really hard work. You would of course be free to go off and explore this lovely part of France and on those days I'm guessing that you'll be happiest to look after yourself.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Tents in the Spring/Summer/Autumn but a room in the house in the Winter.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I often have to go into our local town in the car and you could of course come with me. It has a cinema and a swimming pool (also an open-air swimming pool in the Summer) and a recreational lake. There is a market 3 times a week for local produce.

    We have a bicycle that you can borrow if you want to head off around the leafy lanes.

    If you want to go further afield, maybe catch the train to Le Mans (the atmosphere there during the Le Mans 24hr fortnight is electric!) or visit Chartres and its beautiful cathedral. Paris is a direct train-ride away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 662453819969

Comentarios (1)