Come and create sustainable gardening, music and food with us in Torquay, Australia

  • 97 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 22 may 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    We are a couple with one small dog and a big garden living on an acre on the outskirts of the coastal surfing town of Torquay. We are into recycling, music, sustainable gardening and cooking.

    We grow much of our own food using, and we provide opportunities for people to experience a sustainable lifestyle. We have one very friendly dogs (Riley) and a bee hive plus because we are in the bush we get lots of visiting native birds - Superb Blue Wrens, Kookaburras, Parrots, Ravens and Currawongs all are regular visitors.

    We are inspired by Permaculture and organic gardening principles and David Holmgren’s ‘Retrosuburbia’ book.

    We aim to be
    - peaceful and calm.
    - compassionate, loving and empathetic.
    - happy, fun-loving and always laughing.
    - as sustainable as we can be.
    - creative, working on projects of many kinds.
    - socially and environmentally connected.

    We are looking for people to volunteer with us that are committed, inquisitive, enthusiastic and reliable. We particularly welcome those who can happily be shown a task and be set onto it for a few hours and not get bored.

    We need you to ask questions – "Where can I find..?” “Would you like me to..?” Is this ok?"
    It’s also important to us that you share what you’re feeling - “I hope..” “Is it possible..” "I've been noticing that..."

    Please only consider volunteering with us if you are genuinely interested in learning new skills in a ‘doing’ context, not just thinking about it. You will know if you are that kind of person if you feel excited, or apprehensive, as you read this.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn about applying permaculture to a small property and living a sustainable lifestyle with organic food and cooking.

    I'm a landscape architect so I have an interest in a range of environmental and social issues. Leanne's interests are in healthy diets, organic growing and social welfare. We are both gardeners - we met a horticultural college!

    During the footy season you can join us for a game of AFL football (if you go for the Geelong Cats!).. see attached photo.

    We are into music (I play mandolin & guitar mainly) and play with local community music groups (old-timey, bluegrass, folk, celtic) and other music jams and regular dinner parties with family and friends.

    Language-wise I love to practice my high-school French, and am surprised sometimes with what I recall, but its a work in progress.

    We have family in the area, including two who have properties that host Workaways, and we have often swapped workawayers between us for a bit of variety.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Tasks will often be projects that we working on as we retrofit the property to be more sustainable and resilient. These will be jobs listed on the whiteboard, and we will discuss them over meals.

    In between these ‘big’ jobs on the whiteboard other tasks that you may find time to do (that are always helpful whenever the season) may include:
    • Weeding the veggie garden or other garden areas
    • Raking up leaf litter from the paths, lawn and driveway
    • Washing dishes and sweep/mop the kitchen floor after meals
    • Sweeping and mopping the floor
    • Brushing the dog
    • Bringing in wood for the fire (in winter)
    • Watering the pots on the deck (in summer)
    • Gardening and looking after the orchard,
    • Keeping the roadside stall stocked with excess garden produce and kitchen products.

    We are always doing house renovations, so building skills would be specially valuable!

    We are keen to work out what special talents that you bring to us – your super-powers! So feel free to suggest something that you would like to do!

    Previous Workawayers have built fences, gates, art projects, paving, small constructions, gardens, made apple cider, jams, passata and so on. We are keen to get people involved in whatever projects we are doing, including the skills and passions of our visitors. So we welcome your ideas and experience as a key part of the creation adventure!

    On top of the 4-5 hours work, we would expect that Workawayers would participate in the general chores of running a busy household and would contribute to preparing shared meals, cleaning up after ourselves and so on. We invite you to join in with us as part of our family, which also means contributing towards the daily chores of cooking and cleaning. We cook together or take turns sharing food ideas. We really enjoy food and grow much of our produce from the big organic garden.

    Help hours are flexible because my practice is based in the home office, and as a starting arrangement suggest doing 4-5 hours work in the morning starting around 8am so you have the afternoons free. If you want to take advantage of the beautiful still mornings on the beach (afternoons in summer can be a bit windy) then we can accomodate that too.

    If you would like to swap some half-days for full days so you can get out and have full days at the beach or wherever, we can probably make that work too. Weekends are sometimes a busy time for projects, so occasionally we might suggest swapping your weekend rest days to midweek, so that we can work together on a big weekend project.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    While we are doing some renovations your accommodation will be a large caravan in the garden.

    Until recently this was a popular rental place - but we're not operating it at the moment as we had to move it. So its quite nice, but one task will be to get it tidied up, perhaps create a new outdoor space next to it and a path to the bathroom.

    There is a double bed, and a single bed/daybed, kitchen with fridge and microwave, eating area, and lounge. It has air con heating/cooling and the daybed converts to a big desk.

    Nearby is the freestanding bathroom with hot water, toilet, shower, a pink clawfoot bath and windows that open out overlooking a pond!

    A special space at our place is the balinese-inspired day-bed on the deck, a very nice place for a night under the stars or to hang out during the afternoons. You've very welcome to enjoy it while relaxing.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The weekends are your own to explore, and we encourage you to get out and find your adventure! On weekends we will most likely still be very active, and we would welcome your assistance then too if you are still staying here, but equally we encourage you to get away and explore and do some travelling!

    The beach and town is only 30 minutes walk by foot, and we have bikes you can borrow to get there quicker, starting from the concrete shared public pathway that starts out the back of our garden and takes you to Torquay and Fishermans Beach along Deep Creek. The iconic Torquay back beach is just around the headland, and is world famous for surfing. Bells Beach is a short bike ride away.

    If you want to go for longer walks along the coast (eg Great Ocean Walk) we can drop you off by car, and we can show you some of the local sights.

    There is a bus to Geelong, Melbourne and west along the coast, 20 minutes walk.

    In winter the whales come along the coast and can be seen from the cliffs locally. We have a Chocolaterie chocolate factory nearby too! Over winter we enjoy the wood fire and mulled apple cider, and we regularly go to the pool for a saunas and spa and you could join us for a small fee, and of course there is the beach!

    Basically this is a tourist town and is full of exciting things to do with your time off. We really want you to have a great time and take away some special memories of your holiday in Australia.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have optical fibre conection to the property and can provide ethernet connection - 100bps speed!

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Theres plenty of room to park a campervan

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We probably cannot welcome cats to the property, given the wildlife here.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 643849941544

Comentarios (6)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Small home farm near Mullumbimby, Australia
Language exchange, help with childminding and farm stay in Sandford, Tas, Australia