Join our family and get inspired in the Klein Karoo, Oudtshoorn, South Africa

  • 175 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 9 abr 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello travelers, journeyers, wild ones, adventurers, the recycled, the upcycled, the weary.

    My name is Susan (Tallulah's Mama) We are a progressive, creative, collective of family dreamers and keen to offer an opportunity in this light. Come spend some time with our eclectic bohemian family at Cornerstone house in the rugged desert of the Klein Karoo region of South Africa. Four years ago we acquired our property in the village famous for its ostriches, wild landscape and magnificent underground cave systems also sharp seasons, cold winters and hot summers.

    Our home is a large old house (built 1937) on the border of the town of Oudtshoorn. We dream to develop this space into an artistic artwork! Something to share with the community.

    Some waterworks and experienced basic carpentry/ masonry skills are needed here. If you are up for an out of the box building project and some interesting conversations, then this may be your next stop. We have animals some trained, some tame, some wild.

    We will not be hosting in December nor January nor February 2024 as its a scorching heat here. We will siesta with the nature. In March we will look at restarting with the vegetable garden and garden in general that needs daily love to be able to grow into much more to support and feed the household, and possibly a few more!! Also at present we have a collection of random books that need sorting. We are doing a new fence which requires metal work, woodwork, design and brickwork.

    There are many large and small things happening here at present. We are transitioning in a big way at present from a family home into a more community venue, a rest spot, a learning spot, a safe place a creative space. There is daily maintenance of various aspects of the large garden. as well as moving forward to the goals we have proposed. We will guide participation according to our bigger picture. There is also space for personal creative expression.

    Our ideal workaway travelers here from March into June 2024 are those who can help with building projects and upgrading an old garden to the new one as well as attention to details around the property. if you have skill or experience and passion in building, carpentry, plumbing, concrete or stonework, gardening, cooking, therapy, family, art music that would be a match.

    We are requiring some specific skill set as mentioned above. In the future we will construct a semi enclosed swimming pool, where Suzi Mom can teach aqua skills (she has taught swimming since I was a child) Ideas welcome.

    Always remember time is not money
    TIME IS ART!!!!!

    We look forward to being a part of the stories that you share with your families in the future. We look forward to meeting you, and look forward to the magic that can happen when we are able to trust that our association is part of a bigger picture.

    Thank you

    Tallulah and Mo

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You have the opportunity to be part of a space that is always developing, where you can let your creative juices flow, your ideas and thoughts can become physical reality, we are seeking movers and shakers, people who want to explore the possibilities of where ideas can take them. This space is a thinktank, a place to reset to work and to share your skills and we share ours. You champion you!!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    1
    a veggie garden to to cared for daily and expanded
    planting weeding compost
    animals love love
    work rooms and studios to be established as practical spaces

    2
    a fire pit
    a pizza oven out door cooking feature

    3
    sorting clearing books clutter
    a community online shop to start
    sewing project


    4
    community swimming project with local children (campaign in process)
    adapt to the family with enthusiasm and support
    someone who is slow to judge
    A kind encouraging self motivated doer

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Any other languages will be great to learn, especially the basics

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is a comfortable cottage room and adjacent facilities available. , It has a double bed and is quiet and private. You will use the gas shower and facilities in the courtyard.

    The house has an open planned shared pantry/ kitchen/ dining /living room/ lounge. This is shared space, social and respectful and very much in the transforming stages. A bit of camping experience would go along way. Everyone is welcome to use the facilities in this area as long as it is kept clean and as you would like to find it. There is also an inside kitchen and dining room/study which is private but used when its cold outside and during the winter months until the fire pit and pizza oven are manifested.

    We offer one meal a day, so you will need to sort out breakfast and snacks, fruit. There is a refrigerator and cooking facility. Sharing meals can be discussed. We are predominantly vegetarian so if you do eat meat you will need to attend to that yourself.

    We have limited transport, however live one good hill away from the village center. If you are travelling we can collect you in the village. Please take this into consideration.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Oudtshoorn is a small town, well known for its famous caves and Ostriches, there are busses and taxis which can be used at anytime to get around, rugged mountain walks, caves, farm life is on the cards. George a clean and quiet coastal town is only 40 minutes away over the incredible Outeniqua mountain pass. Mossel Bay is 90km and a good day trip at the coast.

    When we have expectations we are disappointed when we are free we have no expectations only thankfulness for Grace. When we enter a family home we respect the family. When our family accepts a guest we accommodate them to our best ability. Lets adventure.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There is always good internet connection on most of the property.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have space for a camper van. Details can be discussed.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 617571581434

Comentarios (1)


Comentarios



Learn about permaculture and caring for animals in Knysna, South Africa
Enjoy the wonderful activities that come with our beautiful hostel and adventure center in Wilderness, South Africa