Help me around my sustainable small holding in Trout Lake valley, Washington State


Estados Unidos

603 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
  • Descripción


    I am a 74 year old man. I have lived here in the Trout Lake valley for over 30 years. I have raised four children here (Mostly here) I spent five years in Alaska working on fishing boats and doing boat-building and repair. In Trout Lake, I worked for the Forest Service for seven years and have done many different jobs to survive here. My favorite forest service job was in the Wildlife Department searching for spotted owls. I consider myself an environmentalist.
    I live on 9 acres of timbered land, No one is immune to change so I no longer have the farm animals that I once had and it is in some ways a sad transition for me yet life goes on and I still have the farm! So I live in the country and live simply. I spent many years as a feltmaker and was accepted into the primitive skills community as a teacher and participant, mostly through the Rabbitstick Rendezvous and the Glass Buttes Knapp-In. I teach primitive skills (fire by friction, flint knapping, felting, etc.) at primitive skills gatherings, I have also taught at Ekone Ranch and Cascade Mountain school.
    I also have a website which gives extensive information about me and my homestead.

    I am also a lifetime student of edible and medicinal plants and their uses. I love music and dance and am presently teaching myself to play the piano and Ukulele.

    I do not live a totally primitive lifestyle: I have electricity, a washing machine, a dryer, internet connection and hot water! We are five miles from the town of Trout Lake and 25 miles from a sizable town.(White Salmon) Trout Lake is considered the gateway to the Gifford Pinchot National Forest. There are mushrooms and berries to pick in season, and the area is known for its many caves. There are white water rivers and mountains to climb. Good hiking abounds in this area. One of my personal projects is creating a cross County trail!

    Portland, Oregon, is our big city about 80 miles away. We are 25 miles from the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area, which is a world-renowned wind surfing area. One of my nearest neighbors is the Trout Lake Abby -- a combination spiritual retreat center and bed and breakfast -- owned and operated by a Buddhist Monk and a Druid Priest.

    I am retired and live on a modest social security income. I like to maintain a very small environmental footprint, heating with wood, using a composting toilet and a bioswale for greywater. I like to hike and travel across my county with my friends and sometimes by horse power! I hope to include more people on my hikes!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Most of my workaway guests come here to experience the area, so I try to make sure we get out and hike or go caving or go to local events or what ever they express an interest in! If they are interested in any crafts that I do I try to include time for crafts!

  • Ayuda


    What I need help with varies with the season! right now in the summer I am getting ready to go hiking so a hiking companion would be helpful! There are on going preparations for winter however! I am always needing more bark chopped for it's tannic acid for tanning hides! I need help transcribing my 34 years of log books that I have kept of my life experiences ,so knowing how to type would be helpful.. I also make mead and do some distilling and make medicinal tinctures. And there is ongoing gardening and house repair!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I can always use Spanish practice

  • Alojamiento


    What I have for guests are two loft areas attached the the house for sleeping and during the summer months, lots of campsites for tents. I have a 20 foot yurt where I spend most of my time and it is the grand central station so to speak. I do have full access to the basement of the house for myself and my guests and that includes a large bath tub a great shower and a work space for felting and making of mead and distilling

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I mentioned earlier the possible things to do like rafting, and water sports in the gorge (25 miles away) mountain climbing, caving, hiking. Also, there is an AMTRAC train leaving Bingen (25 miles South of here) daily to and from Portland, OR. or East to Chicago

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have a good internet connection

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    we can talk about it if it is a possibility

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    possibly if you have need of a service animal

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 615784487852