Help on a smallholding with horses in Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

214 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/08/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    4699

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 17 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are Sophie and Rui and we live on a 3.5 hectare smallholding with 2 horses, 3 dogs, 4 cats, and chickens.

    There is a cosy caravan (with your own kitchen facilities) or a 5m yurt (no kitchen) to host volunteers, and a shared kitchen and bathroom.

    Some of the projects we have planned include improving the area around the caravan (clearing the land, building a compost toilet and shower), a regenerative grazing system and Paddock Paradise style track, planting horse-friendly hedgerows, continuing the renovations on the house, and improving the infrastructures. If you're particularly interested in any of these then please let us know.

    Help with gardening (weeding), felling dead trees and cutting/chopping firewood, tree planting, general tidying, strimming, fencing, housework/cleaning, and cooking are always appreciated!

    Rui is away for 2 weeks of every month and when I'm alone here I love my peace and space! So I prefer volunteers who are independent (it might be good if you come with a friend or partner). The caravan has cooking facilities so you can cook your own meals, and we can also share some.

    If you are a gentle and experienced rider, there may be some opportunities to come out on trails or even camping trips.

    We would also consider a longer-term volunteer, especially someone who could take care of the smallholding and the animals to enable us to go away.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Great opportunity if you'd like to learn more about general horse care, regenerative grazing systems, ecological building, developing permaculture gardens and a small food forest from scratch.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Simply lending a hand with whatever's on the go at the time. As a guideline we ask for 5 hours per day help.

    Building / renovation work / land clearing & maintenance / fencing / gardening / helping with the animals.

    I'd particularly love to hear from you if you're an experienced (gentle and horse-centred) dressage rider who can give me some lessons, a builder, plumber, electrician, carpenter, tree surgeon or gardener.

    Would love to have help from a carpenter who could build a greenhouse from a stack of old windows we have.

    Cooks are always welcome, and if you're not up to the heavier work then feeding us (and other volunteers) is a much appreciated task.

    We also sell horse manure, so help with loading the pick up and delivering would be useful (and a great opportunity for you to meet other people and projects in the area).

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Rui is Portuguese and I am English, and we both speak each other´s language to an intermediate level. We would love to practice and improve our language skills, and help you with yours.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in a comfortable caravan with (small) double bed, woodstove, hob and oven. Or in a 5m yurt with double bed and woodstove.

    Flat space and electric hookup for your own van, or bring your own tent - there are plenty of private spots to pitch it.

    There is a shared bathroom and kitchen.

    Food is provided and we'll eat some meals together but there is also the option to have more privacy/time out with cooking facilities in the caravan. Most diets can be accommodated, just let use know in advance.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There's plenty to do and see in the wider area - paragliding and skiing, fantastic restaurants with cheap local dishes, stunning mountains to discover on empty roads and tracks, rivers and lakes, prehistoric sites, etc.

    If you're a confident, gentle, horse rider then there may be opportunities for exploring the local area on horseback.

    There's a great little international community here and there are occassional social events and workshops. However if you're looking for nightlife you're probably going to be disappointed!

    You'll need your own transport to get around, or rely on a lift when we go out.

    The nearest town is 5km away has train and bus stations.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Can accept very well behaved dogs. We also have space for horses.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours per day, 5 days per week as a guideline

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicación: (4.3)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 595869952351