Join our family and help with some creative projects in Vimmerby, Sweden

Country

Suecia

267 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    25  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    465

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 17 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My wife and I are 'teachers' (and learners) at heart and also by training as well as amateur curious artists). We are ‘the’ traditional Russian/American family living in Sweden :-) Maria has a PHD in Biology, a medical degree in pediatrics and also teaches middle school science. I'm (Wally) a Special Education teacher with a dual focus on gifted and social/emotional needs. I've taught in Portland,Oregon and Phoenix, Arizona and for the past 12 years, in various regions of the world (China, Egypt, Germany).

    We met in the typical way, playing Ultimate Frisbee on the Sinai Peninsula in Egypt. We have three children, Ezra is now 9 years old, our daughter, Yuki, is 6 years and Kano, is 4. We don't have any pets yet, but we are considering getting some friendly fish :-)

    We are looking to find creative individuals that have an open, caring... and fun attitude. Workaways should be good with children. Friendly, playful and of course patient. The kids are lovely and full of energy...


    We are looking for and enjoy those who can adapt and adjust to the environment. Those that can take initiative and have good judgment. Is that a lot to ask?

    We need help with cleaning and cooking ;-) Preparing meals together with family, possibly ohter workawayers and of course, kids too…. that is lots of fun!

    We need help with keeping the garden and yard in good shape: We have about 3000sqm, with 8 apple trees and 5 cherry trees.

    We hope to build a 5 meter wide geodesic dome this summer! We built and painted the parts last summer and now we just need to put them together :-)


    Wally and I like creative project and our place has much potential for creating interactive art! Installations that not only can be looked at, but used and Played with! Like building structures to climb and enjoy! Ideas for outdoor art and mosaics are welcomed.

    Location: We live in central Vimmerby. This is a very famous and lovely area in the region of Småland. Many lakes, natural preserves , forests and national parks are close by. Just a 10 minute bike ride to closest lake! About 45 minute drive to the coastal town of Västervik.

    Our property is central Vimmerby but we have plenty of green space. We are just 500 meters to central square, where the 'Old town' is located with cafes, shops and cobblestone streets. Our property was said to an old farming collective.
    It's sits just across from the train station :-)

    The author of Pippi Longstocking, Astrid Lindgren, spent much of her life in Vimmerby and there is an Amazing theater park called "Astrid Lindgren's world.

    Workaways have an RV on green space next to garden.

    We prefer to have a workawyer stay 3 weeks or more, but we are flexible.

    Communication:

    Maria speaks many languages: English, Russian, French, Swedish, Norwegian, ... and some German.... but I, sadly, Wally only speaks English, though, he can do it with various accents :-). The kids are fluent in Swedish, English and Russian.

    We are open-minded, patient and genuine. We like to be social and have meals together...

    Hope you have a chance to respond...and we're looking forward to hearing from you soon!

    Kindest regards,
    Maria and Wally

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have the opportunity to experience Swedish life in a small and historic town. Natural beauty is all around, with lakes, forests and parks all very close by. It is very picturesque.

    There are so many natural areas close by for hiking, biking, canoeing, swimming, fishing ... Many are within walking and biking distance... We can offer bikes to use while you stay with us!

    Vimmerby is centrally located, 3 hours to Stockholm, 45 minutes to the Baltic Sea, and 3 hours to Gothenburg... and also Gotland!

    And our kids speak three languages: Russian, Swedish and English... Maria also knows French and German!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Maria and I are looking for helpers that can positively contribute to our family environment. We appreciate creativity! We are quite laid back. We are flexible with the hours we work and the same would be for you.

    We are looking to find an individual that is good with children.
    Friendly, playful and of course, patient. We need help with cleaning and cooking ;-)
    Preparing meals together with kids too…. that is lots of fun!
    We look and enjoy those who can adapt and adjust to the environment.
    Those that can take initiative and have good judgment.
    Is that a lot to ask?

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido
    Ruso: Fluido
    Swedish: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We can offer an RV in our yard... green space next to garden.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your free time, you can explore many beach areas, natural preserves and several national parks for outdoor activities. Fishing, hiking, swimming, camping, boating, ....

    The train, bus and train station are just across from our property. So traveling anywhere in the region or into Scandinavia is simple.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a wi-fi connection...

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have space to park a campervan...

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Yes, friendly pets :-)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (4.8)





















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 593122226692