Tiny house and cat refuge project on Vis Island, Croatia



899 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

  • Descripción



    LGBTQ+ fam welcome!



    Would you like to help me transform an old stone toolshed into a cute and cozy tiny house?

    This is a somewhat extreme Workaway because the living conditions are very rough, but if you're independent people who love cats, hiking, living off-grid surrounded by nature and you think you could handle doing all that with minimal (but decent) shelter even during stormy weather when it gets dark at 4pm, read on.

    I need help because I live in town from October through May, and hiking up to the land every day to feed my cats is getting to be too much for me. I need people living up there to take care of the cats during the eight months when I live in town, and to help me create the tiny house. Right now it's VERY rough, but it will only get better as time goes by.

    I’m only accepting teams of TWO PEOPLE at a time because you’ll need to share a bed, and you’ll need each other for company. Vis is desolate in winter, and you’ll be almost alone on the land. My neighbors will be there too, but they have their own lives and you won’t have much interaction with them unless it happens organically.

    I would like each team to stay for at least one month if possible. Ultimately I want people to settle in and stay for longer periods, if I find people who are the right fit both for them and me.

    This offer will be available every year from October through May. Check my calendar and / or the NOTES section at the bottom of this description to see which periods have already been booked.

    Loving and being attuned to cats is the NUMBER ONE qualification for this offer. Everything else is secondary.


    My land is about a 40-minute hike uphill from the port of Vis. It's a nice walk uphill to the edge of town, then along a relatively flat dirt road with a great view of the bay, then uphill again on a footpath winding through a forest, then finally along the crest of the hill on a very rocky footpath that slopes gently into the valley along the edges of fields.

    The Earth Garden consists of the future tiny house, its backyard, a couple small fields and a tiny forest. It sits on the edge of a small valley where my neighbors have a family farm. They also have a big, loud generator they run for a few hours every night, usually sometime between 9 and midnight. If you're lucky, the wind will blow the sound away from you. If not, you should be able to escape it once you're inside, or on the other side of the structure. And if you listen to or play music it might not even be a problem, since your music will be closer.

    At the moment, the structure we'll be working on – and that you'll be living in – consists of four old stone walls with a new tiled and insulated roof covering the indoor living space plus a small outdoor seating area. The only opening is an old door that will be replaced soon.

    A small solar panel provides minimal electricity (light and plugs), and you can get a signal for mobile data, but sometimes it can be glitchy. There's always free wifi in town, though.

    There's no fridge yet, but there’s a gas-powered cooker. I'll provide kitchen equipment and drinking water, but you'll need to provide your own food. A small cast iron wood stove for winter heating and cooking will be installed soon too, and you’ll be able to heat water / cook on that.

    The bed is a medium-length fold-out sofa that used to live in my house in town. Some people have said it’s a bit too short, but it should comfortably sleep two. I can provide bedding.

    The composting toilet is outside in the bushes, and there's a rainwater cistern where you'll get water for bathing.

    The most beautiful part of my land is the Sea Garden, where you can go to enjoy a view across the sea to Hvar, Brač and the mainland mountains in the distance. There’s also a rough-cut walking path nearby that can get you down to the water (the bay of Rogačić) in 20 to 30 minutes, depending on how athletic you are.

    I'll be living in town and available to help you out with any glitches you may encounter while living on the land.


    The first tiny house projects will be painting and plastering the interior, then we’ll start to think about shelving, storage and a work surface. There’s always a bit of land and path maintenance to do (weeding / trimming), and from November through April we can have outdoor fires to burn some of what’s been cut throughout the year – that's always fun!

    The cat work is most important to me, but it’s probably also the easiest. You'll just need to walk over to the nearby Sky Garden every day, where I camp from June through September. The 16 cats who call that place home may not all be there at the same time, but that’s how many come there to eat. I’m hoping that you'll also enjoy spending time with them and giving them some attention. They'll probably end up wandering over to the Earth Garden and I don’t mind if you give them treats there too, but I'd like to keep the main feeding spot in its established place.

    I'll come up to work with you at least one day each week for three or four hours at a time, and will give you tasks you can do while I’m not there too. Your main reason for being there is to provide a human presence for the cats, to feed them every day (I'll provide cat food, of course) and to give them some attention. I can't imagine we'll ever be doing 12 hours of actual work each week, but that would be the max.


    Fall, winter and spring on Vis have many sunny, mild and beautiful days, but there are also dark, cold, windy, stormy, rainy and occasionally even snowy days too. I've camped on the land in a festival tent through the end of November and again in early spring, so I know what I'm asking people to deal with. The tiny house is the best thing I've ever had, shelter-wise: you'll be in relative luxury compared to my crazy adventures.


    If you love hiking, you’ll be in heaven here. Vis has many hiking trails through hills and valleys, often with stunning sea views along the way.

    Exploring the island by bicycle or scooter is also fun. The tourist agencies will probably be closed, so we’ll have to try and find someone to rent to you off-season, but I think that’s possible. 

    Walking all around the bay of Vis is nice at any time of year, and there’s a bus to and from Komiza every morning and evening, so you could go to the other side of the island and walk around there too.

    Of course reading and lounging in bed are classic winter activities, and once we get the new door built and the wood stove installed in the tiny house, it should be a perfectly cozy winter nest.


    I don't expect to get lucky and find anyone who wants to stay for the full eight months, so if you've read this far and are interested in any time period (minimum one month), reply with YES, PLEASE! in the subject line.




    I found help from March 6th through the end of April 2022, but all other months through the end of May 2022 are open.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This workaway is about getting back in touch with nature, so the only person you'll be dealing with directly is me. I'm an introvert, so I don't hang out much outside of work, but there's an island full of Croatian people for you to go out and meet, if you're into that sort of thing. Download a language app, learn a few words and phrases then go out out and practice! People always love when you try to speak their language.

  • Ayuda


    Cat caretaking, tiny house finishing, general land maintenance

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    A stone shed with a fold-out sofa-bed

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The island of Vis is a nature-lover's delight.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    12 max, probably less

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 586875764165