Plant trees, live simply on top of a mountain in Catalunya, Spain

Country

España

actualizado  

116 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are Ben and Will, living simply, off grid on nearly 8 hectares in the mountains above Tivissa, Catalunya. We’re working with our small herd of rescue animals, olive and almond trees, and the land to make a sustainable life here, for us and to share with others; exploring techniques of regenerative agriculture, permaculture, syntropic agriculture... As a gay couple we aim to increase queer visibility in rural agricultural endeavors and strive to provide a safe encouraging space for us all to connect with the land.

    We are looking for 1 or 2 people at a time, to come work with us, from one to two weeks or longer if it works for everyone.

    Who we are:
    We are both 35 years old, from the state of Wisconsin, in the northern midwest of the United States. After 10 years living in London, we’ve found our way here. Ben has been living here for 3 years, and Will is now living here full time for the last year and a half after travelling back and forth to London at first. We speak English and Castellano, and Ben speaks German.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will learn about natural building, principles of organic farming, soil building, dry stone wall repair, shepherding skills.... and much more!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Some of the projects we are working on:

    Restoring the second and third rooms of our old Shepard’s hut - using natural building materials and techniques

    Fixing fallen terrace walls

    Various small carpentry projects

    Garden work

    Building Fences - all of our existing fences are built with olive wood, which we collected and prepared for building from pruning the overgrown, previously abandoned olive trees.

    Preparing future vineyard site: building fences and clearing brush from these terraces and others

    A massive tree planting, watering, mulching, and irrigation projects.

    A smallish Almond Harvest - around September

    Olive Harvest - starting November each year
    - pruning of overgrown olive trees while harvesting if suitable.
    - chipping the prunings for mulch

    Forestry work: thinning young pine stands for fencing material. Cleaning forest cover to reduce fire risk.

    Cutting, collecting and chopping firewood.

    A bit of low-key shepherding - hanging out with the animals if they are in a pasture near the road and to direct them as necessary.

    Any other projects that come up or inspire you!

    We are living on the mountain with our dogs Truman and Orla, who are very affectionate, although they have very few boundaries - and like to kiss and cuddle everyone. Our very inefficient mouse control cat is Dexter.

    Beyond these two we have Max the pig, Bodhi and Junya the donkeys, Myra and Minnea the sheep, and 2 ducks. These animals all come from a rescue and have lived with us on the mountain helping work the land for the last 2+ years.

    We are looking for helpers that are excited to take part in the beginnings of our mountain farm. We have learned a lot in the last three years to share with you and look forward to learn from your experiences.

    Photo notes:
    the beach is playa del torn, 30 minutes drive down on the coast.
    The little river gorge pools are a 40 minute drive.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Catalan: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation we can offer is a small Caravan. It is basically just for sleeping, 1-2 people.

    Toilet: simple, composting and outdoors, under an olive tree with a great view

    Shower: we have a very basic outdoor shower set up

    Electricity: minimal 12v solar electricity - enough to run lights at night, charge phones and tablets and other small items.

    Food/cooking: we will provide a hot vegetarian meal in the evening, or cook together/you can cook if you like to.
    And provide food for communal or individual breakfast, lunch and snacking.
    Our small indoor kitchen is available to share.

    We have one neighbour, who we live quite closely with, Suami, who lives a 5 minute walk away with his 2 well trained goats. Close enough to see each other whenever you want to, with plenty of room for privacy. He is Catalan, fluent in English and Castellano.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are located in the mountains a few km away from the medieval Catalan village, Tivissa, around 2,000 people (15min by car - 35 min by foot down, 50 min by foot UP) On the road to Tivissa you pass a font and a bolsa of mountain spring water, and rock climbing routes.

    The land is terraced, with mainly olive and almond trees and a few figs that were previously cultivated here. The land was abandoned for 20+ years.

    We work as much as possible with things that come from the land or that we find thrown away in town.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Just ask

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 855269894479