Life, Art and Nature in south of Thailand. Nakhon Sri Thammrat

Country

Tailandia

772 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/01/2021

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are James and Nymm, two artists who own and run a small farmstay and art studio in the South of Thailand. We started out four years ago with little more than a plot of land covered in fruit trees, but now we have four traditional clay houses, a fish pond, a herd of goats, some ducks and geese, a dog, and two children. We work hard!

    We used to own a bar in Bangkok but moved back to our hometown of Phrom Khiri in 2015. Since then we have worked hard to turn our vision for the garden into a reality. We built clay and brick houses and throughout this process tried to use natural materials as much as possible. We have also planted a garden full of fruit trees and utilise only organic farming methods - we want to grow as much of the food we eat as possible.

    Our home is a working art studio and we produce art which we sell all over the world. We also use this space for workshops with local children and adults who want to learn about art and nature.

    Our goal is an aesthetically pleasing and sustainable way of life. We try to produce everything ourselves as much as possible. Our future plans involve planting a vegetable garden, brewing our own beer, making a pizza oven and using our goat milk for drinking, cheese and beauty products.

    We are very sorry but we can’t accommodate vegetarian volunteers. Here in the South of Thailand lots of our cooking ingredients contain animal products and it is difficult for us to provide quality vegetarian meals.

    Food: meals are provided with the help of everyone. Most dishes are prepared with seafood, meat, vegetables and fruits in Thai, Japanese or Western style.

    Working Time: This changes throughout the year in line with changing weather. In hot season we usually work 9-12 and then 3-6 so as to avoid the hottest part of the day. In rainy season we usually work 9.30-4 with a break for lunch around 12.30. A lot of our work depends on the weather.

    Days off: Two days off a week which are flexible. You need to provide your own food on days off.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are located a 15 minute drive from Nakhon Sri Thammarat, in a little town called Phrom Khiri. It is not a busy town but you will find a lot of local life and culture. We are surrounded by nature, mountains and waterfalls so there is plenty to see and do on your days off.

    Things we need help with:

    1. Looking after our goats.
    2. Organic vegetable garden.
    3. Occasional childcare.
    4. Cooking.
    5. Help with our Art workshops for children.
    6. Feeding animals
    7. Help around our home. Cleaning etc.

    Some of what we do involves getting pretty dirty so please bring old clothes!

    Some of our past volunteers have come back several times and we are like a group of family and close friends. We like everyone to help each other, work together and exchange knowledge.

    Working rules:

    We know it is hard to work in the heat so please take water breaks anytime you feel tired. If you finish a task and have nothing to do please ask us what to do next as we often have our own work to do separate to volunteers.

    We ask for a minimum stay of one week but you are welcome to stay much longer.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido
    Thai: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodations: A room for 2-4 person(s): that includes a fan. There is a bathroom

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We want you to learn and exchange culture. Including those living with nature and community.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5hours a day, 5 days








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 585631528167