Help with a permaculture project and experience off-grid living near El Perello, Spain

Country

España

43 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, I'm Fran and have recently moved to a small finca in Catalunya and need your help!
    We are totally off-grid (solar power & well water), which means treading lightly on the planet - careful use of all resources including water and power. The household includes Dave the cat, Dulce the dog, five chickens - Louise, Dolores, Chookie, Deirdre and Darlene, plus around 40 budgies (it’s a long story!). We all rub along very well indeed, (although Dave would like to get a closer look at the budgies). The plan is to add 2 donkeys to the menagerie, however, before this can happen we need to build a strawbale/cob shelter and put up fencing to keep those little escapologists at home.

    I am setting up a permaculture project from a fairly sterile base. The finca itself has 160 olive trees, 40 carob trees and 50 almond trees, plus 3 veggie beds. The ground has been compacted over years and now needs lots of organic material added, plus love and hard labour in order to bring it back to health. Part of the plan is to build swales, the donkeys will also graze the terraces in order to keep plants under control and fertilise as they go.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Keen to meet a range of nationalities for general chat and learn about one another, particularly on things permaculture. Also nice to cook typical national dishes for one another, (but not necessary).

    The area is very beautiful, beaches nearby nearby and acres of forest, plus mountains within reach. The train to Barcelona/Valencia is just 6km away. Hiking, biking, swimming, kicking back in the sun - the world is your whelk!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Gardening, Swale Digging, Animal Care, Harvesting, General Maintenance, Strawbale Building, Cooking. Sheet Mulching, Pruning, Setting up Irrigation, Painting

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am happy to help visitors to improve their English, but equally happy to speak in my basic, but improving Spanish or French

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have your own room, (unless traveling with someone) with bathroom shared with one other bedroom, plus a kitchenette if wanted, although the intention would be to eat together in the main kitchen/on the terrace. I will provide 3 plant-based meals a day and expect & appreciate help in prepping/cleaning up.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The nearest village is 4km away, as is the sea, (different directions). It is incredibly peaceful, surrounded by pine forest. Since there is very little light pollution the night time skies tend to be amazing, particularly in winter, and it’s good to see the last of the daylight from the 1st floor terrace, (maybe with a drink in hand).
    There are bikes if you wish to go to the beach, (the swimming pool is currently out of commission & not sure when it will be fixed) or local villages.
    Wifi is pretty good, although not up to steaming films - on the other hand I do have a few DVDs we can project outside for a little home cinema or you could bring your own DVDs. There is no TV.

    I am hugely concerned about climate change and for this reason work hard to minimise my carbon footprint; I would encourage you to consider using an environmentally method of travel (such as train, car share (eg blablacar), cycling, etc.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have decent wi-fi, although there are times when it can go down all across the local area, so no guarantees. Equally the mobile signal is pretty good.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have space next to the house for camper vans as well as an outside shower and loo, (although you are welcome to use the indoor facilities if you prefer)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 584578281657