Farmstay at small family farm with cattle, swine, mini horses in Ottawa, Canada

Country

Canadá

97 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    367

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family living on a hobby farm - we currently raise swine, cattle, chicken and we have mini horses and a pony. The farm is primarily used as a community hub for youth programming focusing on youth empowerment and community capacity building.

    Our farm is located 15 minutes from downtown Ottawa, there is no public transit near the farm. We have high speed internet on the farm. Sean is Regular Force military working in Ottawa, Stephanie is currently a full time graduate student preparing for military chaplaincy, the boys attend public school.

    During COVID a lot of our programs are "on hold" - however we are running our high school program with three cohorts.

    Our primary need at the moment is assistance in basic animal care as Stephanie has injured her back and is unable to do day to day chores reliably at this time of healing. Additionally, we require a person who is willing and interested in assisting with our children - mainly being a positive supervisory presence when both Sean and Stephanie are out of the house (the boys are 13 and 10, one has Aspergers).

    We prefer long term stays of 3-12 months. We offer the use of our second vehicle as long as you are properly licensed and insured. We are open to you getting an off farm job to supplement your income. We are open to you running a farm business on the farm while you are here.

    We are Christian, non-smokers, non-drinkers, homebodies, gamers, and meat eaters. If you think you can fit here - we would love to hear from you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You have the opportunity to learn about organic farming, harvesting and preserving.
    You will also learn husbandry skills with all animals on the farm.
    You can also choose to learn to ride or drive horses while you are here. (We currently DO NOT have any riding horses)
    You can learn about training calves to be oxen - driving and riding (We currently have two in training)
    You have ample time to explore Ottawa and it's surrounding area.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are a family of four (children are boys 13 and 10), we have a house cat and house dog. Our house is comfortably lived in - we are not neat freaks. The boys do a lot of online gaming. The rhythms of the farm come first - livestock are fed and cleaned before anything else happens. We watch a lot of movies, and read a lot of books. We don't travel often (although Stephanie does from time to time). Our house can be loud - the boys are in that "stage" of wrestling and fighting.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are interested in increasing our French and German.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Varies by season:
    Guest room in the house with us (2 kids + 1 dog)
    Tents/Yurt/Motorhome - you are welcome to pitch your tent, park your motorhome and use the facilities of the farm house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We frequently go into Ottawa - daily actually; we are happy to drop you off and arrange a pick up later in the day. The train (VIA) is close by making visiting Toronto/Montreal easy and affordable.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Keep in mind that we live in the country. The internet is good 90-95% of the time, unless it isn't. Town is very close, and I will often go to Starbucks or the public Library to work if our internet is down.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a large farm yard, with electrical hookup and possible water hookups.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3 hours a day, 6 days a week minimum








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 584158342855