Help repair our deck and build a backyard composting bin at my Toronto family home, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

89 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, We are a family of five. Me Shelley, my husband Mark and three teenagers. We enjoy travelling; be it nationally or internationally. We engage ourselves in lots of outdoor activities like camping, hiking, fishing, gardening, canoeing-Kayaking and endless of other things. We grow organic vegetables in our backyard during spring, summer and fall. We also have many houseplants which need good amount of care throughout the year. I am very much interested about permaculture. This year we started permaculture process in our front and backyard garden. Though I am not an expert on Permaculture, I will learn through this process.
    We live in one of the most beautiful and desirable areas in Toronto, across the Bayview Country Club. 24/7 TTC bus (public transit) is five minutes walk from our home. Downtown Toronto is 45 minutes by public transportation and 25 minutes by car. We’re 25 to 30 minutes Uber ride from the Toronto Pearson international Airport. It takes about 1:30 hours by public transport.
    Since December 2021 we hosted four workawayers and all I can say it has been a wonderful experience for our family. Hoping to experience a world of cultural exchange with future volunteers.


    All five of us are fully vaccinated against COVID-19. We can only host volunteers who are fully vaccinated too.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Me and Mark met at a yoga studio two decades ago. Yoga is part of our daily lifestyle. So if you are a volunteer at our home expect you would most likely do yoga with us. Hiking is also our favourite activity. All of my workawayers joined on my hiking. We are a very physically active family. Our daughters participate in dance, competitive gymnastics, volleyball, basketball, ice hockey as well as all kinds of water sports.

    We also travel a lot and love to share our experiences to others. We have travelled countries in Central and South America, Asia, Caribbeans, New Zealand, Australia, Europe and America. We are not holiday makers, we take adventure trips where we involve ourselves in local cultural activities, with the local people.

    Evenings are our chill down time. Doing yoga, going for a hike or watching netflix in our large entertainment room while the fireplace is glittering with fire (winter time) and warmth. We do not want our guests come home later than 10PM frequently. Once or twice a week would be considerable.

    I try to take the workawayers to see things around Toronto or even a bit further away.

    I expect we will both benefit and teach each other things that neither of us known before. Sometimes the intangibles are quite valuable, and I know that my experience has been everyone knows something to teach, and by observing, we can all learn together.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    For the month of May -September (2022) I am looking for volunteers who have experience with outdoor work like cutting tree branches, building/repairing decks, making backyard compost bin, chicken coup or raised bed for vegetable garden. All kinds of gardening/landscaping skills will be helpful in these warmer months.

    Some general help around the house, like vacuuming, cleaning the kitchen and common areas will be appreciated.

    Not looking for someone who is already living in the city or has a job etc. I am very much into the traveler exchange part of workaway, so this is only open to someone who is:
    a.) a traveler
    b.) able to commit to this project as a priority.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Four out of five of us speak native English, so English is the only spoken language at home. Learning other language Four out of five of us speak native English, so English is the only spoken language at home. We are open to learn other languages like Spanish and French

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Your own room in our family home, with all utilities, unlimited wifi and a shared bathroom. Your room has a queen bed with memory foam mattress, a closet, a study desk and chair, coffee table, an accent sofa and Mirror.
    No pets in our house as I am allergic to pet saliva.
    Our house is in a safe, upscale neighborhood. Toronto's famous Don river and longest hiking/biking path is mere few meters from our backyard. You wouldn't need more than fifty steps from our backyard to this scenic hiking trail which parallely runs with the river. We have bicycles you can use on this trail or places you would like to roam.
    If you like hiking/biking this is your opportunity.

    MEALS PROVIDED: Me and Mark are vegetarian/vegan but our daughters eat chicken, fish sometimes. We are okay to accommodate all other dieters.
    Volunteers have full access to the kitchen, bathroom, laundry, etc. We provide a fully-stocked pantry and food for all your meals including your off day meals.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are morning people. We do not prefer doing house chores or any project related work after 6 PM. Evenings are our family time and chill down time. We prefer workawayer start their work early. They can enjoy their off work hours whatever way they want. They can enjoy watching netflix shows on a very large screen tv or chill out in our beautiful backyard (weather permitting) sitting on a hammock or any of the swings while reading favourite books or listen musics. They can roam around our beautiful and vibrant city of Toronto.
    We live about 45 minutes from downtown Toronto by bus and subway (the bus stop is 5 minutes walk from our house). There are lots to see and do in Toronto. You can visit lots of attractions like the CN Tower, Toronto Islands, Niagara Falls (less than 2 hrs drive from our home) , many museums, parks, Chinatown, Canada's Wonderland and so on. I can also tell you about lots of less touristy but very interesting things that are there in the city.

    Please don't be someone who is just always on their phone and does not want to interact. I'd like to learn about your country and culture and hope to share some of mine, and have you leave as a new friend.

    Looking for a Workawayer who is Positive, helpful, can see things that needs to be done without me telling you, fast learner, not attached to your phone all day, want to learn to do things differently than what you are used to.
    We eat organic and plantbased for the animals and the planet. We also recycle as much as possible, save on electricity(turn off the light when we are not in the room) and water when possible. Welcome to our green home.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Workawayer with hypoallergenic dog is welcome

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (4.7)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 583138214536