Help in my garden in Sapporo Hokkaido, Japan

  • Japón
  • 101 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 7 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Hi I'm Tom I am an American expat living in Sapporo Japan. I have been living in Japan for over ten years and a few years ago I bought a small farm property and built a small second residence, so I can stay there when I feel like it. I am over 60 years old and up until this year I did not really need help with my DIY projects.
    UPDATE 2023 JANUARY...
    But this autumn my shoulder needed surgery for a variety of problems and I will have a long recovery which means no farm work basically at all.
    I know that I will need help this year.
    I am not sure yet what I will plant this season and exactly when I will plant , it depends on my recovery progress and the spring weather... I will be looking for workawayers to help me off and on again throughout the season until end of September

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The place is located just on the outskirts of Sapporo, so it is very easy to go back and forth from my place into the city. there is a bus stop about five minutes walk from the place and from there the bus goes to the South Sapporo subway station. There are not many other locations like this that are so close to the city center around Hokkaido...

    I am not really into doing cultural exchange as I am not Japanese, but you can learn a fair bit about gardening and farming and about DIY construction Japanese style ....sort of....

  • Ayuda


    I need help with various small projects related to DIY gardening and farming and construction . The help is not too difficult but it is repetitive... I will be there most of the time to provide instructions and to provide all the tools and materials needed. I will be working in a limited capacity where my skills are needed.

    I prefer to start in the early mornings mainly to avoid the bugs, because the weather is cool and rainy in the spring time and fall and hot and humid in the summer and there can be biting bugs during all three seasons. The helping hours usually would be 6 am to 8 am or 9 am. I am flexible and if the weather is real bad then I can pivot to another project until the weather improves or delay working until the afternoon. If you are not a morning person then this opportunity will not be a good fit for you... you are free to hangout after your help sessions or you can take off and do whatever it is you want to do. I usually work seven days a week in the spring summer and fall time but I do not expect you to do that. As long as you do five sessions a week we can work out which two days you would like to take off.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Japonés: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    A three room basic residence that is comfortable for two persons, it would be possible to house three people if you can manage it. there is a basic kitchen with a fridge and IR stove top and a Microwave range along with basic cooking utensils and pots and pans. So you can cook basic meals.
    The bedroom has a double bed, but I have found its not quite big enough for two people. There are extra futons that can be used for extra people.
    The semi private bathroom has a Toto washlet toilet and sink and vanity and a shower. It is usable for 9 months of the year as it is a rainwater catchment system. During mid winter the tank is dry and frozen and the water system is frozen until the snow starts to melt in the spring around late March/early April. I usually drive to the nearby convenience store and use the restroom there before going in to buy coffee or other drinks or food. Koganeyu onsen is also nearby and I occasionally drive there to have a hot soak after a long days work. There is fast internet at this location good WiFi and easy log in.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You are free to hangout or take off after your help session is done and do whatever you like and go wherever you like...
    Again the advantage to this opportunity is being close to Sapporo city and all it has to offer

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have very good internet connection here and two loud boom box speakers since I like to play deep house music at full volume. if the walls are not vibrating it isn't loud enough. I HAVE NO NEIGHBORS NEARBY

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have room 7 months out of the year, the other Five months is deep snow and therefore not really suitable for large campers although that would be fine if you are willing to shovel your parking space in the winter. BE aware there is up to 2-3 meters of snowpack on the ground ATM

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    It depends on the pet. Big dogs would be fine but they would need to stay outside and are not allowed inside. Any other pet runs the risk of becoming food for the local wildlife, mostly foxes and Tanuki dogs ...

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 316391928851

Comentarios (3)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Integrate into Japanese Family life and help with Childcare and Housework, near Tokyo, Japan
Help with gardening, other chores, arts and crafts workshops in rural North Okayama, Japan