Help with horses and building in the Pentland hills in Scotland, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

822 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/05/2022

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our cottage is situated just at the foot of the Pentland hills in Scotand with gorgeous panoramic views to every direction. We bought it just over four years ago when it was in a bit of a state and have spent all of our time since then bringing the house back to living condition. We are not a working farm but our long term aim is to become a working small holding, having animals and growing lots of our own food, but also to be an artistic creation centre where individuals and companies can come to develop their work.

    At present living on the here are two adults, two children, one baby, one dog, one cat, four ponies, one foal and a hive of bees. :) Coming here would really suit people who want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and spend some quality time in the wild. We are only 40 minutes drive from Edinburgh and an hour from Glasgow, but it feels like you are a world away - there is no public transport here so it would be good if you have your own means of transport. There is great walking up in the hills and we border some forests where you can cycle.

    The most exciting news is that we are just in the process of installing a hot tub! :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is a chance to experience Scotland and how beautiful it can be. There are two artistic companies based at the farm at present - one circus company and one story telling company and we would be happy to chat about creative ideas with you. The farm is ideal for children and totally safe since there is not a main road for over a mile.

    If you would like to improve your English we would happily speak to you and give you pointers. Various people on the farm speak French, Spanish, Italian, and Dutch.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are about to start a building project on the side of our house which will last a couple of weeks beginning on the 15th October, and are looking for help with that for a week or two.

    We are also looking for horsey people to help ride and school or ponies. Two have just been broken in and need a confident person to continue their training. Please get in touch if you have riding experience. :)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A caravan just beside the house with two double beds and one single, plus a bunk bed option for children. It can sleep four adults (very cosily) or two adults and up to three children.

    Or there is also a small double room inside the house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your time off you can go walking or cycling around the local area. There is also a loch with good fishing within a 15 minute walk. We are a dark sky area and so on clear nights looking at the stars is amazing.

    For a painter or artist this would be an ideal place as the landscape is spectacular and inspirational.

    There is no public transport however a car does go from the farm to Edinburgh and back fairly often during the week, so you would be able to see the sites there. If you have a car Glasgow is only an hour away and you would also be able to explore the whole of the picturesque central belt of Scotland.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 581858441739