House sitter to look after our animals on our farm in Beitstad, near Steinkjer Norway

  • Favourited 113 times
  • Last activity: 29 feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are a family of five with three teenage children (ages 13, 16 and 18). My husband Leon is Canadian and I (Kate) am Norwegian. We speak English, Norwegian, some French and Italian and just a little German. We lived for many years in Canada where we also had an organic farm, but moved to our current farm in Norway in 2021. The farm is 2-3 acres with many fruit trees and berry bushes, a chicken coop and yard, two greenhouses and three small vegetable gardens. The house is a large traditional farmhouse from 1907 which has been renovated in keeping with the original style and since we love music it also has a grand piano! It is in a very picturesque and quiet farming community 2 hours north of Trondheim. There is a nice beach in the village which is just 2 km away and lovely hiking trails all around. We have one St. Bernard dog, a cat who lives mostly outdoors or in the barn, and some chickens. We have had volunteers in Canada and have always enjoyed having travelers stay with us. We made many good friends this way. The friendship and cultural exchange is very important to us. We are looking for someone who can stay at our house from Dec 19th to early January to take care of the cat, dog and chickens while we are gone on holiday, and you are welcome to stay on after this period as well. Please get in touch if you would like to talk and hear more about this opportunity!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you like nature - hiking or skiing we can show you so many beautiful places for you to explore. We are a very active family and enjoy hiking, cross country skiing and bicycling and you can borrow ski equipment if you need. The area is known for great locally produced food and also Stiklestad is nearby - the site of the battle where St. Olav fell. The whole area is full of viking history.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    While we are away, you will have the company of our very friendly St.Bernard dog. He loves to go for walks, but does not require a lot of exercize. He is also happy to sleep inside in front of the fire! He and the cat are fed twice a day - once in the morning and again at 5 pm. The chickens need fresh water and food every few days. The rest of the time, you can enjoy the beautiful house and surroundings. You can use our car while you are here to explore the local area.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian bokmål: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Our children are learning Spanish and French and we are interested in learning these languages better.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are five bedrooms and two bathrooms in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are focused on healthy living and enjoy making meals with whole grains and mostly vegetables (sometimes with good quality meat) from scratch. We do not smoke and consume very little alcohol and do not wish to have anyone smoking in the house. We all share duties and expect that everyone pitches in with meal preparation, cleaning, and doing the dishes. The tasks feel lighter when we do them with someone else so you will never be burdened to do things alone.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good wifi and internet connection in the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 564176178118

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Experience the arctic while helping to renovate my farmhouse in Evenes, Norway
Family home and animal sitting in Manger, Norway